What happens after a factory reset?

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by Perenista, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. Perenista

    Perenista
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have an iPAD 4. It has iOS 9. Will this factory reset return to the original conditions, which means the older iOS installed in iPAD 4?
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,285
    Thanks Received:
    5,820
    No. A factory reset (restore without backup), only deletes all data and settings. Whatever version of iOS that is currently installed will still be installed.

    There is no way to roll back an iOS version once Apple stops signing it. Currently only iOS 8.4.1 and iOS 9 can be installed; and installing iOS 8.4.1 requires a few non-standard steps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List

Share This Page