"no Update" prohibiting reinstalling same iOs Version from iTunes too?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by rotation, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. rotation
    Offline

    rotation iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi.

    Regarding the cydia app "No Update":
    Is no Update only blocking updates via General->Software Update
    or is it prohibiting a reset and reinstall (same version - not an update) from iTunes too?
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,442
    Thanks Received:
    1,713
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,832 / 0
    I could be mistaken, but I believe it's solely for the Over The Air (OTA) updates that come with iOS 5.x+

    In iTunes, you just have to be vigilant to say "no, don't want the update." But - if you do get the new update pop-up, there is a small box you can check in it to tell iTunes not to pop-up and tell you about updates. It'll still show on the main screen that your iPad is not upgraded, but you'd have to physically move your mouse over there and click it. And, if anyone deliberately does that, there's no hope for them! :)

    Hope that clarifies.

    Marilyn
    • Like Like x 1
  3. rotation
    Offline

    rotation iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank you for the answer :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

reinstalling same ios iphone 5