Ios 6 jailbreak to ios 7 jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by vicks, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello,

    I am currently on ipad 4 ios6 jailbreak. I want to update to ios 7 jailbreak. Do i have to go via dfu mode to update ios first (as told in stick thread) and then jailbreak or there is some alternative way too? Will it be a clean install? That i would loose all my apps that are installed on ipad? And i think host files are not ok on my computer. I messed with them smetime back.. Do i reset them with tinyumbrella before updating?

    I read that cydia has been updated. Do i need to wait for mobilesubtrate update too or is it for only newer models?


    Pardon my ignorance
    Thanks
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Thanks Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 0
    Yes, you need to put your iPad into DFU mode so you can upgrade it to iOS 7.0.4. There is no alternative way.

    You won't lose any of your apps if you (1) make a backup in iTunes first and then, when prompted by iTunes, (2) restore from that backup. Your iPad will the same as it was ... except it'll be on iOS 7.0.4.

    If you develop issues with your host files, come back and let us know, but I think you'll be okay.

    Then, once iOS 7.0.4 is on your iPad, you can jail break it using the evasi0n7 tool. It's very easy to use, just make sure to follow the instructions beforehand and follow the prompts during.

    Lastly, yes Cydia has been updated for iOS 7. However, MobileSubstrate has not. Therefore, most tweaks (that require MS) don't work as they should, though some do. I understand the tweaks don't work at all with the iPad Air, but some with with older generations.

    So, you don't have to wait. Just know that a majority of the tweaks have not been updated on iOS 7 and therefore may not work properly or at all.

    Marilyn
    • Like Like x 1
  3. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks a lot. will be updating tomorrow.. I hope all goes well
  4. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Done with jailbreak. All went well. Installed swipeselection and hiddensettings7. Both work correctly. Do we have a thread here about what tweaks or apps are workig. I want to know about activator, sbsettings, mxtube
  5. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    Activator is still a WIP, but many of the issues have been ironed out with the latest release in the past 24 hours, which fixed the statusBar gestures that were not working properly if there was no physical statusBar (not an underlay) in the app such as Tapatalk.

    SBSettings is partially working, but Ryan Petrich has released FlipControlCenter, which gives you quite a few more toggles that you can add to your control center. SBSettings' power, option, dock and respring are either not working or working on and off (unreliable).

    MxTube hasn't been updated, but I use Protube from the AppStore, which does the same. Or, YoutubeToMp3 from Cydia, and using Bridge will get that into my Apple library.

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...lmNXhCbWNQc0J1amt1N0Rkanc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
    • Like Like x 1
  6. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Flipcontrolcenter didn't work for me.. When i install it.. It also installs activator.. When i click activator it hangs and then minimises.. I didn't see any new settings anywhere else. Am i doing anything wrong?
  7. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    Open up Settings.app and look for FlipControlCenter. If you're not seeing it there, then you have to reinstall MobileSubstrate. Once you're in there, a list of toggles is available for you to sort through. The little 3 dash stacked column allows you to move the toggles up and down. Further up means close to the first slide of toggles, lower means farther back, or, you can disable some toggles. You can now slide the toggle portion to access more toggles with FCC
    • Like Like x 1
  8. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks. Reinstalling mobilesubtrate did the trick

    Any tweak to display date in status bar?
  9. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    FakeCarrier should be what you're looking for.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It only shows fake carrier. Other options are grayed out and there is no option to add date to status bar.. I know it can be done with sbsettings but i dont want to use that.. Anythink else i can do?
  11. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Datecarrier does the job. But i am looking for something that adds date without removing carrier name.. Just like sbsettings does
  12. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    Woops sorry, was thinking something carrier but it slipped my tongue.

    The date on statusBar doesn't work with SBSettings at the moment. There aren't any outstanding tweaks that pops off my mind other than DateCarrier and SBSettings, and one of them does not work as of yet.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. vicks
    Offline

    vicks iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok thanks a lot for your help.. Will wait till sbsettings is fixed. Till then i can use datacarrier
  14. Commodore
    Offline

    Commodore iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I'll also go from JB 6.1 to JB 7.0.4 on my iPad soon. I started with a JB on my iPhone which is already 7.0.4, just to make sure everything's there and works before I transition the iPad.

    So if I want to start with a clean iPad, I simply (after DFU) choose not to restore from backup?
    Ahd if I do restore from backup, will it also restore Cydia tweaks and settings from 6 (which would become visible only after jailbreaking it in 7), or does it only restore "official" content (so even after DFU+restore, the iPad will only have official file-system contents plus apps, no leftovers whatsoever)?

    On a related note... How come installing iFile wants to remove some icon pack for Zeppelin (that was on the jailbroken 7.0.4 iPhone)? I've encountered a few of these strange phenomena (installing A wants to remove seemingly unrelated packages X, Y etc.). Not sure if it's a transient issue due to incompatibilities...

    And one last thing: Does Cydia cross-check packages versions between all available repos, or just within the repos from which the respective packages were installed? So if you install package 1 from repo X, it will only check its updates from within that repo (and not from repo Y, or others if they become available)?
    (I noticed some are available in more than one repo, and if I add one that includes betas (rpetri.ch for example), then it adds to the confusion a bit.
  15. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Thanks Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 0
    Yes, putting iOS 7 on the iPad (with DFU method) will make a clean install; you'll have a fresh-from-the-factory iPad if you choose to "Restore as New."

    In fact, restoring from new guarantees there will be nothing left from old jail breaks (vs restoring from backup). Sometimes, bits and pieces of coding from jail broke tweaks do get left behind, tho they are not usually an issue on a stock iPad. But, if you don't put a backup on, it won't get the bits of coding. So, putting iOS 7 on the iPad will make it stock. There will not be any jail break coding on it.

    As for tweaks, they may have made a backup for themselves. What I mean is, if you install a tweak you had on iOS 6, you may find some of your tweak settings are still the same, even though you are on iOS 7. It's the same as if you put an app on the iPad from the AppStore; it'll sometimes "remember" how it was. But, you have to be jail broken and re-install that tweak; it won't happen on its own. Hope that makes sense... :)

    Not sure on this one, so I'm leaving it alone. Hopefully, someone else can help.

    No, versions of packages are not cross checked in different repositories. Each tweak will only go back to its repo to see if there are any updates.

    For the multiple lists, just ensure you install the one that has the best chance of getting updated. For example, if you want to run a beta update, you'll run the one from that repo (Petrich's, for example). If it gets updated, only that tweak will get updated, not the one on the main repo. And, you'll get that red badge to tell you it has an update. But, the non-beta tweak (usually on one of the default Cydia repos) will not get the update.

    Hope this helps.

    Marilyn
  16. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    With regards to the Zeppelin query, it may be an index conflict with the iFile directory. Use SSH or an afc2add client like iFunbox to move them elsewhere, install iFile, then replace them where they belong. Also, make sure the logos are in the new directory /Library/Zeppelin/ and not the old directory.


    Sent from my iPad Mini via Tapa
  17. Commodore
    Offline

    Commodore iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Is there a best practice on how to "switch repos" later on (e.g. from the beta to the main one), i.e. do you just install the package from the main repo (and it will overwrite the existing one), or should you uninstall the old one first, and then install the new one?

    As for Zeppelin, I had to uninstall it, it was the cause for many issues (turned out whenever I installed even the most benign tweak (such as various shell utils packages), Zeppelin was on the list of what was to be installed, and respring was needed each time). Pity because it's one of the tweaks I was most looking forward to have. Which directories should I check for eventual Zeppelin/logos leftovers, just to make sure it will be OK next time?
    (maybe the logo pack installed some old Zeppelin over the one I installed first, "Zeppelin Beta for iOS 7".)
  18. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    For the most part yes. Once a beta package has been updated for full public release, the developer will implement a check for any existing beta packages of the same name in the designated directory and will either overwrite it, or will remove it and install a fresh copy. But that depends on whether if the developer implements the check.

    Make sure you're installing the one directly from Alex Zielenski's repo, which is (off the top of my head) http://repo.alexzielenski.com/ I believe. The Zeppelin packages may not be installing them in the appropriate directory, so you can install the Zeppelin icon packages themselves, navigate to the installed directory, and either copy the logo folder to /Library/Zeppelin/ or zip them using iFile, SSH or afc2add, then remove the package through Cydia. If you zipped them up, and did not move them to the said directory already, do so, and implement through Zeppelin
  19. Commodore
    Offline

    Commodore iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I added Alex Zielenski's repo, but it seems empty (even after reload in Cydia), either by opening it directly in Cydia under Manage/Sources, or using Search (which doesn't show any hits from that repo).
    I found this conversation https://twitter.com/alexzielenski/status/417139599262363648 and seems some people say it's empty, while others see stuff there.
  20. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +238 / 0
    It might've been moved to to one of the public default repositories. Check to see if the version of Zeppelin that comes up in Search is 2.0.1-9 or 2.0.1-151. If it's not coming up in both his personal repo and the public repo, let me know, I'll upload the deb on either a myrepospace or up onto Dropbox for you to download
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
had cydia installed on iphone and it was jail broken when i turned on location it erased
,
jailbreak ios 7
,

updating ios6 jailbreak to ios 7