What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New ipad - update to iOS6 or not?

Update to iOS 6 or wait...?

• Update to iOS6 out of the box

Votes: 5 55.6%
  • Stay on 5.1.1 & wait for the next maintenance update

Votes: 4 44.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

janner43

iPF Novice
Reaction score
New iPad 3 & I'm new to iOS so I have no experience of iOS 5.1.1

Should I update the OS to iOS 6 out of the box, or wait until version 6.01 or 6.1 whatever the revised version will be?

Serious & sensible - ie non ranting replies requested :)

Thank you.

Last edited:

s2mikey

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Well, that's entirely up to you. If the new features in the latest OS are important to have right away then upgrade immediately. The lack of You Tube and the new maps are an area of concern for many users though so make sure you are OK with that. I doubt it will change with later releases anyways. But, in most cases I would just say to upgrade now and then if/when patches come out you can get those as they are released.

OP
J

janner43

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Appreciate it is my choice :) Just was interested in the "vox populii".

YouTube I am content with the mobile version via Safari, or the iPhone app or Jasmine.
Gmaps loss is an issue, but I'll have streetview through android devices, so not too much of an issue.

I notice your sig line says you are on 5.0.1 - that's quite a few updates you've passed on, isn't it?

zunex

iPF Noob
Reaction score
It depends. For me, I've found that despite the Maps issue & missing of Youtube, iOS 6 are great. It's faster & smoother than iOS 5, plus I like the Clock App (LOL)

Hayles66

iPF Novice
Reaction score