How to activate the best secret feature in your iPad

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by xune, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Jeeper

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Thanks Gabreil1. That's a good idea, and I'd take you up on it, but by the nature of the work (highly mobile), and the nature of the information (need it at any time), I think we're stuck as is for now. Plus, I think some of the stuff may not take well to being copied back and forth.
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,572
    Thanks Received:
    2,625
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,268 / 1
    A 32 GB USB drive could probably take some of the load off. Of course, if the info is sensitive USB drives are easily lost. Maybe one of those encrypted/secure type drives would work.
     
  3. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Or you could send them.........


    TO THE CLOUD!!!!!!!


    :)
     
  4. BigBerner

    BigBerner iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I works great and well worth the $5
     
  5. SueG

    SueG iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Super. Thank You.
     
  6. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I did it for FREE!!!!
     
  7. ratatapa

    ratatapa iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How does that work about registring as an Apple Dev?

    I want to activate those when I get Ipad2 but When i go to register on Apples dev site, they keep asking me about company info


    I don't want to enter false info and get lawsuit for nothing
     
  8. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    You only have to follow the instructions, more specifically this point:

    4. When it asks you to enter your iOS developer credentials in the dialog box, click cancel. It will give you an error. Disregard it.
     
  9. xune

    xune iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    The 2Gb would likely be the RAM.

    I agree with Grey Shark's suggestion. Creating a free Dropbox account will free up some drive space. You can also create a free MobileMe account for three months allowing you up to 20GB of extra space.

    Once you've freed up space and downloaded what you need, you can then delete the Xcode program if wish.
     
  10. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    You spelled my name wrong but that's ok. It happens all of the time. People think of a grey shark, but actually my name is Grayson so I used the gray from my name to make grayshark. But yes.......


    TO THE CLOUD!!!!

    (I am making fun of the windows commercials)
     
  11. darthluke12694

    darthluke12694 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I did a search to install xcode on Windows (particularly Windows 7 in this case) and I found a website that tells you how you can do it. From the comments, it seems like it works.

    I am currently in the process of doing this. It took me 3 hours to download Snow Leopard, and don't feel like messing with it now. So i can't guarantee if this will work, but if it does, it will be cool. It does require you to have at least 6GB (I think) of hard drive space. You also have to have a computer capable of PC Virtualization.

    Like I said, I haven't done it and not sure if it will work. It will also take you hours (depending on your Internet connection). If anyone else has done this let me know how it works. I'll try it tomorrow.

    Here is the link: http://ipodtoucher55.blogspot.com/2010/12/installing-ios-sdk-and-xcode-on-windows.html
     
  12. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Just use ibackupbot, took me 5 minutes. And the gestures are enabled for every backup I do and restore I do.
     
  13. darthluke12694

    darthluke12694 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I probably should have done it that way, but I didn't.

    The process I described above does work. It takes hours, but it works. It also requires a few edits since the article is a couple months old.
     
  14. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Oh well.....
     
  15. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Has anyone using ibackupbot come across the 'to big to digest' & 'error: cant load device info' popups?

    Google doesn't seem to know any of these messages, so I am a bit stumped as to how to proceed.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
hidden ipad features
,
ipad 1 hidden features
,
ipad 1 secrets
,

ipad 2 hidden features

,
ipad 2 hidden secrets
,
ipad 2 secret features
,
ipad 3 hidden features
,

ipad secret features

,
ipad secrets
,
ipad secrets features