How to activate the best secret feature in your iPad

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by xune, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Then click "more info" then "serial-ATA", what does it say next to capacity?

    The Archangel
  2. Jeeper
    Offline

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Yeh, it's plastic, a few years old. But it is running snow leopard 10.6.6
    I didn't bring it home today so I don't have any more info right now.
    Thanks for your replies
  3. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    A MacBook without an Intel CPU? Not possible. The MacBook was, from the start, an Intel-powered laptop. There was never a MacBook that wasn't.




    Michael
  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Sounds like a MacBook rather than a MacBook Pro, I think the smallest HD for a black MacBook would have been 55GB but still best to check. If it's 55GB and you have 11GB free then I would suggest 5.5GB is the most you should put on it. If you have a bigger HD, anything over 100GB and you have 11GB free then I wouldn't put anything else on it and I would be looking to take stuff off the HD anyway.

    Presumably once you are loaded with gestures on your iPad you can then remove the software from your Mac until they update the iOS again......not certain about this......and hopefully they will provide the gestures in the next update.

    The Archangel
  5. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Could be an iBook or PowerBook but I don't think so if it's black as I don't recall either being issued in black. The later iBooks looked identical to the MacBooks.

    The Archangel
  6. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,471
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,365 / 1
    Well, as I said I'm not an expert on all the Mac models. I wasn't aware there were any black/plastic MacBook Pros, so I guess I was just politely asking if it was really a MacBook Pro.

    I think I remember there being a black MacBook available for a short while sometime back. Didn't consider that.

    But since he says he is running 10.6.6, it's all moot.
  7. Jeeper
    Offline

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Thanks for the great replies! I will proceed with great caution, if at all. I don't want to risk buggering up my boss's machine, I'll check the numbers closely. I would like the gestures, but can also be patient for the actual release (keep checking those rumor mills, right?).
    I'll be more willing to experiment, and learn this stuff, when I get my own MacBook (maybe soon).
  8. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,471
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,365 / 1
    I'd go with what Gabriel1 says. It's probably the best advice your going to get.

    The only other thing to say is that if you can delete stuff to get another 5 or more GB back on the laptop you could probably keep the XCode. Not that it sounds like you have any reason to.
  9. Jeeper
    Offline

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Yeh, I'd be REALLY crazy to start deleting stuff :)
    Sounds like it's too full to really push this, better safe than sorry, right?
    Thanks again, awesome answers!
  10. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Slightly off topic but whatever size HD you have it sounds bloated. IMHO OSX is a wonderful OS but hates being bloated, I would suggest that you (or your boss) invests in an external HD and create alias's on it so you can delete data off of your HD. It is really easy to do and I can take you through the process, it will make a huge difference to how the MacBook operates and will ensure continuing stability.

    The Archangel
  11. Jeeper
    Offline

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Thanks Gabreil1. That's a good idea, and I'd take you up on it, but by the nature of the work (highly mobile), and the nature of the information (need it at any time), I think we're stuck as is for now. Plus, I think some of the stuff may not take well to being copied back and forth.
  12. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,471
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,365 / 1
    A 32 GB USB drive could probably take some of the load off. Of course, if the info is sensitive USB drives are easily lost. Maybe one of those encrypted/secure type drives would work.
  13. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Or you could send them.........


    TO THE CLOUD!!!!!!!


    :)
  14. BigBerner
    Offline

    BigBerner iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I works great and well worth the $5
  15. SueG
    Offline

    SueG iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Super. Thank You.
  16. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I did it for FREE!!!!
  17. ratatapa
    Offline

    ratatapa iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How does that work about registring as an Apple Dev?

    I want to activate those when I get Ipad2 but When i go to register on Apples dev site, they keep asking me about company info


    I don't want to enter false info and get lawsuit for nothing
  18. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    You only have to follow the instructions, more specifically this point:

    4. When it asks you to enter your iOS developer credentials in the dialog box, click cancel. It will give you an error. Disregard it.
  19. xune
    Offline

    xune iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    The 2Gb would likely be the RAM.

    I agree with Grey Shark's suggestion. Creating a free Dropbox account will free up some drive space. You can also create a free MobileMe account for three months allowing you up to 20GB of extra space.

    Once you've freed up space and downloaded what you need, you can then delete the Xcode program if wish.
  20. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    You spelled my name wrong but that's ok. It happens all of the time. People think of a grey shark, but actually my name is Grayson so I used the gray from my name to make grayshark. But yes.......


    TO THE CLOUD!!!!

    (I am making fun of the windows commercials)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best unknown ipad features offline
,
hidden ipad features
,
hidden menu ipad 2
,
hidden secrets in ipad
,
ipad 1 hidden features
,
ipad 1 secret
,
ipad 1 secrets
,

ipad 2 hidden features

,

ipad 2 hidden secrets

,
ipad 2 secret features
,
ipad 2 secret menu
,
ipad 3 hidden features
,
ipad 3 unknown features
,
ipad hidden features
,

ipad secret features

,
ipad secret menu
,
ipad secrets
,
ipad secrets features
,
ippad 2 hidden features
,
secret unknown ipad functions