What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jailbreaking and Apple

Gazzaho

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm new to the iPad, I've only had mine for a week. In that time I've read about jailbreaking it quite a lot for functionality benefits, I'm not even considering it myself, in a year or so I might and I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but if so many people are jail breaking to get this functionality why isn't Apple working to incorporate certain aspects into the iOS as standard?

I can understand issues to do with security with enabling certain functions, but, for instance, surly the addition of different pictures on different screens wouldn't be hard to implement or present a security threat.

As I say I'm new to this and was wondering if there's a official reason.

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm new to the iPad, I've only had mine for a week. In that time I've read about jailbreaking it quite a lot for functionality benefits, I'm not even considering it myself, in a year or so I might and I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but if so many people are jail breaking to get this functionality why isn't Apple working to incorporate certain aspects into the iOS as standard?

I can understand issues to do with security with enabling certain functions, but, for instance, surly the addition of different pictures on different screens wouldn't be hard to implement or present a security threat.

As I say I'm new to this and was wondering if there's a official reason.

The basic reason why there are restrictions placed on the iPad is to provide a robust protection against the bane of PCs - virus infection.