What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beware of CRACKLE!

k7lvo

iPF Novice
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
155
Reaction score
2
Location
Medford, OR
I know there have been some warnings about Cracle and its location usage, but I haven't seen this one:

Half way through the billing cycle my daughter got the "usage warning email." She had been running the battery down more than usual, too. I found that the GPS was on, but I couldn't find the reason. Although she hadn't reset the usage counters, 6 or so months of data showed a large percentage of transmitted data, and looking at the usage at att.com showed that for the past several days a huge amount of data had been sent - sometimes as much as 200 MB - around midnight, give or take an hour. Opening up the location services showed that, yep, Crackle was location enabled and, even though the app was completely closed, the GPS icon was displayed beside it. I disabled location for it and it seems to be okay...
 

luckyleo

iPF Noob
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
1
k7lvo said:
I know there have been some warnings about Cracle and its location usage, but I haven't seen this one:

Half way through the billing cycle my daughter got the "usage warning email." She had been running the battery down more than usual, too. I found that the GPS was on, but I couldn't find the reason. Although she hadn't reset the usage counters, 6 or so months of data showed a large percentage of transmitted data, and looking at the usage at att.com showed that for the past several days a huge amount of data had been sent - sometimes as much as 200 MB - around midnight, give or take an hour. Opening up the location services showed that, yep, Crackle was location enabled and, even though the app was completely closed, the GPS icon was displayed beside it. I disabled location for it and it seems to be okay...

Thanks! I appreciate the heads-up.

Sent from my iPad using iPF
 

gentlefury

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
2,615
Reaction score
7
Between Netflix, Hulu+ and HBOGo its not really needed....deleted.
 

snoitan

iPF Noob
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
I know there have been some warnings about Cracle and its location usage, but I haven't seen this one:

Half way through the billing cycle my daughter got the "usage warning email." She had been running the battery down more than usual, too. I found that the GPS was on, but I couldn't find the reason. Although she hadn't reset the usage counters, 6 or so months of data showed a large percentage of transmitted data, and looking at the usage at att.com showed that for the past several days a huge amount of data had been sent - sometimes as much as 200 MB - around midnight, give or take an hour. Opening up the location services showed that, yep, Crackle was location enabled and, even though the app was completely closed, the GPS icon was displayed beside it. I disabled location for it and it seems to be okay...

The icon doesn't mean location services are currently being used, only that they'd been used in the last 24 hours. So it doesn't matter if Crackle was running or not.

I always decline location services and push notifications when asked by an app unless I know there is a specific reason for it. I don't need apps notifying me of meaningless stuff ;)
 

gentlefury

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
2,615
Reaction score
7
The compass icon in the top bar means GPS is currently being used. If you shut down the app using it it goes away.
 
OP
K

k7lvo

iPF Novice
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
155
Reaction score
2
Location
Medford, OR
Thanks for pointing that out.

Just to clarify, although I originaly said I found that the GPS was on, I neglected to add that the way I knew it was that the icon was also displayed in the top bar. It disappeared when I disallowed location by Crackle.
 

LLCOOLJ

iPF Noob
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Guys i cant download crackle,

Not available in my region, how do i fix this? IM from philippines
 

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
31,479
Reaction score
13,202
Location
Regina,Canada
LLCOOLJ said:
Guys i cant download crackle,

Not available in my region, how do i fix this? IM from philippines
Unfortunately it can't be fixed.
Crackle is only available to users in Canada,the US and the UK.Other countries are not supported at this time.
 

leelai

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
24,828
Reaction score
1,309
Location
Brisbane, Australia
scifan57 said:
Unfortunately it can't be fixed.
Crackle is only available to users in Canada,the US and the UK.Other countries are not supported at this time.

We have Crackle here, Australia also.
 

LLCOOLJ

iPF Noob
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
scifan57 said:
Unfortunately it can't be fixed.
Crackle is only available to users in Canada,the US and the UK.Other countries are not supported at this time.

Thanks for the info
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top