Will apps appear on iPad2 that won't run on iPad1?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Sowellca, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Sowellca
    Offline

    Sowellca iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Latexo, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I would think so. If so, then the app store may need another area or filter to help prevent original iPad owners from purchasing apps that they can't run. Any thoughts?

    Apologies if this has been addressed in another thread. I didn't see it addressed yet, but I have so little time to read that I may have missed it.
  2. MsAmandaLove
    Offline

    MsAmandaLove iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't know nothing about it since I don't keep up with those updates. But I hope that won't be the case because to me that would be shitty of apple to do that. It would be thier way of forcing people to upgrade to the ipad 2 Which right there is not right to people who hadn't had their ipad for very long.
  3. tzimisce
    Offline

    tzimisce iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Given that there are apps on iPad that won't run on iPhone because they make use of iPad-specific features, it is possible that there will be apps that make use of iPad2-only features (e.g. if it has a camera, which iPad 1 doesn't.)
  4. Superbike81
    Offline

    Superbike81 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,131
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Japan and Seattle
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Until we actually hear official word from Apple concerning the iPad 2, I think we should wait.

    If Apple does a major upgrade and includes a dual core processor, more RAM, etc, etc, then of course there are going to be apps that take full advantage of that new hardware and won't run on the iPad.

    But, if Apple just does a minor refresh like maybe adding a camera and a little more RAM, then there will only be a few apps related to the camera that won't work on the original iPad.

    But since Apple hasn't even OFFICIALLY said the iPad 2 even exists or is in production, it's all speculation right now.
  5. Itzxdjx
    Offline

    Itzxdjx iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    R.I.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Mhm superbike said it all!

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
  6. Prasius
    Offline

    Prasius iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    The world didn't end for iPhone 2G when the 3G came out.. And similarly the 3Gs, 4G.......

    I wouldn't panic about things..
  7. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Inevitable as devs seek to exploit the hardware.
    No doubt we'll see current and legacy options.

    "Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof....."
  8. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    If you download stuff from iTunes on your PC, it will be up to YOU to read the app descriptions carefully. While you can download any app to your PC, only those apps that will run on whatever mobile device you have plugged in at the time will transfer over when you sync. OTOH, if you download stuff from the App Store app on your iPad, it will only show you apps that will work on that device.
  9. jacson
    Offline

    jacson iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    floreda
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The full screen feature is meant to view the Visualizer or any video content full screen. If you wish to make your iTunes browser window to extend across your entire desktop, you must move the window to the left corner, and then drag the bottom right to make the window extend across your entire desktop. You can also create an AppleScript to do this.
  10. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    There is also a setting under Preferences, which let's you set the store into fullscreenmode.
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    There isn't someone where to send them to have them read for you? You won't read them, Scott?


    :D
  12. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    People could send them to me, but they probably couldn't afford my fee!
  13. the_john
    Offline

    the_john iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's exactly what happened to me with my Android phone. I have one of the first ones that T-Mobile offered. The latest OTA update for it was 1.5 and there are apps I need for school and other things that only run on 2.1 and above. They released a 2.1 ROM for the phone a while back, but the performance is so laggy and crappy it isn't worth using it anymore. Ridiculous things, like if I type in someone's name to send a text message to, it will take 30 seconds for it to pull up the contacts list and then another 30 seconds for it to scroll to the person's name. And if you dare touch the screen or any button while it's "thinking" it slaps you right back to the previous screen and you have to start all over.
    And it's because they came out with newer phones with faster processors and more RAM. Mine physically can't handle the demands of the 2.1 Android OS.
    I really hope Apple doesn't allow that kind of thing with the iPad and future IOS upgrades. That's the biggest reason I won't buy an Android tablet.
  14. Thphilli
    Offline

    Thphilli iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    What Android phone did you have? The G1? It does stink that the first generation Android phones basically got left in the dust because of their poor hardware specs, but that shouldn't be to much of an issue for phones bought from 2010 on. Also, if it was the G1, then I assume that you put a custom rom on it to get 2.1. There are a lot of videos of custom roms running on the G1 on youtube that show it very smooth especially for the hardware that it had. It might have been a case of just running a poorly built custom rom or something going wrong while flashing it.

    For example:

    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVeKboqn6LU[/ame]
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  15. the_john
    Offline

    the_john iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the Motorola Cliq.
  16. Superbike81
    Offline

    Superbike81 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,131
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Japan and Seattle
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Oh, ouch, I'm sorry.

    You need to upgrade, how long before you can upgrade?

    Like was said above, that phone isn't powerful enough to run many of the new apps anyways.
  17. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Apple has a great reputation for continuity. When they went to the Intel processors, they continued to support the old ones. 10.6 was the first one that I could not run my wife's g5 on. And it is still supported under 10.5. Yes, there will be a few apps that will take advantage of specific iPad 2 features, but nothing that Apple won't insist on making part of the description.
  18. the_john
    Offline

    the_john iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't get the full upgrade discount until next February I think they said. I thought about getting out of my T-Mobile contract and going to Verizon. It would actually be cheaper for me to do that (pay the $200 termination fee and get a new phone and service at Verizon) than it would to buy a new phone outright from T-Mobile.
  19. Thphilli
    Offline

    Thphilli iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ooof. I would like to apologize on behalf of Android and T-Mobile. You have my condolences.
  20. Superbike81
    Offline

    Superbike81 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,131
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Japan and Seattle
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    The Cliq was even a bad phone when it was brand new compared to other available Android phones.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple app updates do not run on ipad1
,
can ipad 1 run new apps
,
cpu monitoring
,
how to deal with apps that won't run on ipad 1
,
how to make ipad 2 apps run in ipad1
,

ipad 1 apps that cant run

,
ipad 1 cant run apps
,
speed up
,
what apps won t run on ipad 1