What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need Advice: ipad1 vs ipad2

natedawg607

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Good Morning,

Newbie here, so hi all! We are slowly becoming an Apple House- Have macbook, airport extreme, 2 verizon iphones.

I had a bunch of best buy cards from trading in our old phones. So we looked at an ipad- (Ipad2 is so hard to find, but the store tells me they keep getting them in, maybe 5 to 10 per week, but the store employees never know when they get them).

We have 2 kids, and are wanted the ipad for an upcoming coast to coast trip (movies/netflix), we also use it for surfing on the couch, and I would take it when I travel sometimes.

I purchased the ipad1- 32gb with wifi/3g for $480 with tax (b/c of our Bestbuy credits).

I have that 14 day return period, and was thinking of still hunting for the ipad2 16gb wifi/3g for another $50 ($530 total)- trying to keep the costs close.

Is it worth it to decrease memory inorder to increase the speed (& reduce size/weight) with the ipad2 for +$50?

Thoughts?

Thanks for your help!

OP
N

natedawg607

iPF Noob
Reaction score
What is the average ipad movie size if you buy or rent from itunes?

(we will need to do this to use them on the plane)

OP
N

natedawg607

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm thinking that......but it seems impossible to find them without a 4 week wait. I'm stuck at dealing with bestbuy since we have that large credit there.

I'll keep calling best buy for the next 10 days haha.

Thanks!

Cadena96

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Good Morning,

Newbie here, so hi all! We are slowly becoming an Apple House- Have macbook, airport extreme, 2 verizon iphones.