Show touch points

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by DontUnderstandMyIpad, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Is it possible to highlight where a finger is touching?

    I want to connect the iPad to a TV and am thus looking for a way to identify, where I am touching the screen, without looking at the iPad.
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    If you're a 'veteran' and know 'BASIC' then get 'Basic!'. It's a (the first, the only?) programming language for the iPad and it has an instruction that returns the exact pixel location of a user's touch.

    Other than that, it's a standard implementation of BASIC - but with additions to access the iPad screen, accelerometers etc.

    Great fun and useful too.

    OK - so here we go

    REM Doodle!
    loop:
    IF Touch=1 THEN
    CIRCLE TouchX, TouchY, 10
    END IF
    GOTO loop

    Tim
     
  3. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Great Old Skool solution Tim!
     
  4. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Thank you Tim, that basic code does show the touch points. It must be the most basic, no pun intended, note taking tool.

    I assume code is limited to run within BASIC! ? Ideally the points would show system-wide.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. gray_mouse

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You'd want to erase previous point too. So,

    if(touched==true)
    if(oldX,Y!=0) erase old circle
    draw new circle at X,Y
    oldX,Y = X,Y
     
  6. Pocobear

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    If your JB'd and using "DisplayOut", it will provide a circle to indicate where your fingers are touching the iPad.
     
  7. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    +1 for DisplayOut pocobear. Absolutely my most used JB tweak whilst at work...

    I had totally forgotten that it had settings to show your taps on screen (I have them off). Small, Medium, and Large, don't you know! Thanks for the reminder.
     
  8. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Thank you for the suggestion pocobear. Something like DisplayOut is exactly what I am looking for.

    I just bought DO 1.3.4, but even though the settings to show taps are enabled, does it not show any. Is it not yet compatible with 4.3.1?

    Ok, looks like Show Taps has to be disabled/reenabled after first launch to get it working.

    Another question, is it normal, that the whole screen gets temporarily overlaid with a purple color? It only stays for a second or two and then continues to show the screen, as if nothing happened.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
  9. Pocobear

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    I just tried mine, I'm using the VGA cable to a Sony 60" HD-TV and I don't have any blue/purple tint at all. Though sometimes I get the blue/purple tint on the iPad when I accidentally select the whole screen, in copy mode, and sometime, it's hard to get ride of, usually close the app and re-open it and it's gone. I must say that it's amazingly sharp most of the time, considering that it's enlarge a lot on a 60" screen.:) Google Maps are very good in sat mode. I'll be glad when more apps support AirPlay.

    If your using the new adapter, 30 pin to HDMI, maybe it is the HDMI handshake causing it to discolor for a couple of seconds, until the iPad syncs up with TV.

    FYI; I have heard that there's an app that allows you to control the iPad from the iPhone or iTouch, via WiFi, so you can control the iPad from across the room, instead of jumping up and running over to the iPad to change things. I can't remember the name, but I think it's in the app store.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad app to show screen touch points
,

ipad show touch points

,
ipad show touches
,
show touch points on ipad
,

show touches on ipad