Set up Problem...app content empty..help!

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by Babslanglois, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. Babslanglois
    Offline

    Babslanglois iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Received ipad3 today. Owned the original ipad. Went through setup as new ipad and did not use back up because wanted to start with a clean slate. Transferred over my "purchased apps" from Itunes. No content in apps. Now what do I do. For instance. I have a recipe manager. Reinstalled app but how do I now retrieve the 100 recipes I have in there? Any advice is appreciated!
  2. skrat982
    Offline

    skrat982 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wheaton, IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My guess is that Apple servers are overwhelmed. give it some time. You can attempt restoring you apps from itunes by syncing, but mine did about a half a dozen then disconnected and I can not get a sync started again. I am going to set up for an icloud sync and just let it run overnight and see what happens. I really think that either way it will work when demands on the servers slow down a little bit. good luck.
  3. Dumacker
    Offline

    Dumacker iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington beach, ca
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Servers were probably overwhelmed. I downloaded the apps from iCloud then synced the machine. Seemed to work okay other than I had to arrange all
    of my folders again. Same as last time. Maybe they'll have things fixed when the "4" or Ipad + comes out :eek:
    jhv
  4. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,671
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +533 / 0
    May I ask did you backup your original iPad before syncing the new iPad? If so the recipes should be there on your computer.
  5. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Went through something similar. So I backed up my old iPad again.. Then plugged in the new one.. Right clicked the iPad name on iTunes.. Hit restore from back up.. Chose the old iPad and it added everything back
  6. Babslanglois
    Offline

    Babslanglois iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks

    Appreciate all the suggestions. I am all set now. What I did was backed up my old to the cloud. Erased and restored the new to factory settings and pulled everything back from the cloud. Ii am good to go.
    Thanks again.
  7. dhevans_6
    Offline

    dhevans_6 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I've got this, but only for pages, think book, ithoughts, phatpad, penultimate, etc are all fine, but the pages isn't.

    Given the old iPad is staying in the house, what's the best way to transfer the documents over?

    I restored my iPad from a backup last night, using iTunes and a cable...
  8. dhevans_6
    Offline

    dhevans_6 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok scratch that, went to pages settings and hit restore.

    All is good now..

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ithoughts restore