1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Transfer Apps from IPAD 1 to IPAD 3

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by sirpreet, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. sirpreet
    Offline

    sirpreet iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear All,

    Good day,

    I have been reading some posts on how to transfer apps from IPAD 1 to IPAD 3. I tried to do the same but still not successful. Can anyone please assist.

    My Ipad1 is Jailbroken. It has a lot of apps where i have purchased things, like farm story, etc. As per forum, I did a back up of my ipad1. and transfered apps to the Itunes. Thereafter connected the new Ipad3 to same itunes.

    Transfered / Sync of all the apps to the new ipad3 - Apps have got transfered to the new IPAD3 BUT there is nothing in them. Like the farmstory has no points or things which i had on the previous ipad. It is just a new game of farm story.

    I have spent a lot of money on these games as mother plays them and these games are at advance stage. But in the new Ipad3, there is nothing. just the game.

    Also, i tried to do a restore from the back up of ipad1 to ipad3 --- everytime itune is trying to restore, it says cannot restore as the ipad was disconnected. Where as it wasnt.

    I would highly appreciate if someone could please assist.


    Rgds,


    Sirpreet
  2. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Greetings,
    When you set up the new iPad 3 did you set it up as a new device or restore it from backup? And, are you logged into the iPad 3 with the same account that you use on the iPad 1? Have you logged in to the game with the same credentials that you use on the iPad 1?
  3. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,699
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +1,902 / 1
    A backup in iTunes doesn't save the data in the apps, for that you need something like iCloud, which will backup all your app data.
  4. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    Minor clarification but yes, a backup does save your app data, your settings, etc. A restore from backup wipes everything off the destination iPad and puts that specific backup on it (apps and all - as long as they are still in iTunes); it restores everything but the firmware. It's how I set my iPad3 up from my iPad1 - I restored from the iPad1's back-up in iTunes...

    When you connected the iPad3 to iTunes in order to put the iPad1 backup file on it, did you right click on the iPad3 line and select "restore from backup" (and then select the backup file from the iPad1)?

    Unless the iPad1 backup is corrupt, that process should work. So, we'll need to know the exact wording of the error notice from iTunes to see if we can help.

    Marilyn
  5. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,699
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +1,902 / 1
    Thanks for clarifying, Marilyn. Your answer will better serve the OP.
  6. sirpreet
    Offline

    sirpreet iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When i was setting up the new Ipad3, i started to do the restore from ipad1. but unfortunately, the battery went dead and had to than charge the ipad3 and start process again.

    When i plugged in the new ipad3 into itunes, it didnt ask for restore or anything, just started syncing the apps. When it does the sync of apps, it does not have the data of the apps or the credentials. just the simple game app. nothing else. As if the game is starting new.

    Thereafter i also did a right click on the ipad3 button showing on the left side, and did a restore from backup. It starts to do the restore... nearly 75 % done and it says, your ipad is disconnected and cannot restore. this is the message.

    In the app section of the itunes, i think the apps have complete data as it is 101 mb or 50mb or 200 mb, etc etc size for the apps. thus they are surely not just the game but also the data of the apps is present. to my surprise, the data doesnt show up.
  7. sirpreet
    Offline

    sirpreet iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Many thanks first of all to Marilyn and scifan57, highly appreciate your assistance.

    I just put a post to reply the answer from FID and in turn it also replies to your question on - what happened exactly.

    I have not yet deleted the data from my ipad1. is it possible to do another back of the ipad1 on the same itunes (incase the backup is corrupt)
    Then connect the ipad3 to the same itunes and do a restore again. As it it was happening for the first time ?

    Exact wording which shows in the IPAD3 is " Ipad is disconnected, cannot do restore"

    It seems that when the battery went dead during the restore of the ipad3, it must have got something to do with it.

    So please help to advise how i make the back up again and do a new restore again on the same pc.
  8. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    Heck, it's worth a try. Given that the iPad1 has not been wiped, here's how I'd do it:

    Delete all iPad1 and iPad3 backups from iTunes. To do (apologies if you know) - go to Edit > Preferences > Devices to find the backups. Then, highlight the ones you want gone and press the "Delete Backup" button.

    Then, when they are gone, connect the iPad1 to iTunes. Do the right click and "transfer purchases" option first Ito make sure everything on the iPad1 is moved over to iTunes. Then, right click again to select "Backup." When it's done, disconnect the iPad1. Oh, and make note of the time so you can easily ID that backup again.

    Now, connect the (fully charged :)) iPad3 to iTunes, right click and select "restore from backup" and select the ipad1 backup you just made. Hopefully, that will do it and iTunes will start and finish working it's magic.

    See if that works? If not, holler back and we'll see what we can do.

    Marilyn

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i transfer all info from ipad1 to ipad 3?
,
can ipad apps be transferred to ipad 3
,
how to transfer apps from ipad 1 to ipad 3
,
how to transfer apps from ipad 1 to ipad 4
,

how to transfer apps from ipad to ipad

,

how to transfer apps from ipad to ipad 3

,

how to transfer apps from ipad1 to ipad 3

,
how to transfer from ipad 1 to ipad 3
,
how to transfer from ipad to ipad 3
,
moving apps and data from ipad1 to ipad mini
,
restore from ipad 1 to ipad air
,
setting up ipad air from ipad1
,

transfer apps from ipad 1 to ipad 3

,
transfer apps from ipad 3 to ipad air
,

transfer apps from ipad3 to ipad3

,
transfer data from ipad1 to ipad 4
,
transfer ipad to ipad 3
,
transfer ipad3 settings and apps to ipad mini
,
transfere app from ipad 1 to ipad 3
,
transferring apps from ipad1 to ipad 3