Router advice please

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by Alex101, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    I have a router, Linksys Wireless-G 2.4Ghz, which is connected to my Windows 7 Ultimate PC. My son's PC also links to this in my office, but my problem is that the reception in the conservatory is rather low for my iPad 4.

    I therefore need to boost the strength some how or invest in a better and more updated router, which I am told should be 600 +, or something like taht.

    I have no technical knowledge on these things, so can anyone help with advice. The broadband I uise is supplied by Virgin Media.

    Thanks
    Alex
     
  2. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    Hi Alex - hard for me to believe that you were quoted 600+ (assume that is in pounds?) - are you renting your router or is Virgin Media suggesting a really expensive one to purchase (or both - I'm in the USA; my modem is rented & my router is owned and setup by me). The newest router Wi-Fi specs are 802.11n & ac, so you do indeed have an older router and a replacement might help. Linksys routers on Amazon are typically under $100, and most there are certainly under $200 - I just bought a new Apple AirPort Extreme (before the newest model was released) for about $180 - so you may need to provide comments on the pricing 'across the pond'?

    Also, regarding reception in the conservatory - do you obtain better reception on the iPad 4 when in the same room w/ the router? If so, you might want to explain how far away the conservatory is relative to the router's location & what type of walls intervene (e.g. thick stone ones vs. studs/plaster)? Dave :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,628
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,065 / 0
    I'm with giradman - a router should not be that expensive!

    In addition to thinking about getting a new router, have you considered getting a WiFi extender or repeater? This way, with the expenditure of $100 (USD) or so, you keep your original router but add a device that'll make the WiFi signal reach further.

    Just another possible solution/thought...

    Marilyn
     
  4. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,753
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +601 / 1
    I believe the op is talking about speed ie 600. Dual band router not cost


    Colin
    iPad forums Administrator
     
  5. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    OOPS! NOW - that does make more sense! Thanks, Colin​ & hope the OP returns since there are still some other comments to review - Dave :)
     
  6. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    HI Guys, thanks for the replies. I'm sorry I am such a dummy on this stuff, but thats why I am asking the questions.

    Colin is right, I was told that numbers at the end of the model signify the quality/usefulness, so I was looking for something more powerful and prices seem to be between £100 and £200 for the better ones with greater reach.

    My router location is front right of the house, whereas the conservatory(where the signal sometimes drops off) is rear left - the opposite corner of a large detached house. However, it would be nice to be able to pick up the Wi-Fi signal outside in the garden, but not sure how far these routers can go.


    The signal in the same room as the router is a solid 3 bars on the iPad, but walking through the hall, then into the lounge, it drops to two at the far end of the lounge and in the conservatory, it drops to one, but sometimes drops out, possibly 55-65 feet away, through some stud/plaser and some brick walls.

    I did consider the repoeaters, but not sure if that is best or beter to upgrade the router. Additional help would be appreciated.
    Alex
     
  7. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    Hi again Alex - sorry about my misunderstanding of the 600 (assumed money and not speed, bandwidth, etc.). But, I would suggest that you first upgrade your router to at least 802.11n - this will give you much faster speeds and also about twice the range (look at the chart HERE) - once installed, do the same testing as described in your post above - might be all that you need; if still a problem, please return here - a 'repeater' or 'extender' may be all that needs to be added. As to brands & models, I'm not sure what may be available in your area, so hopefully some members close to you will respond - good luck! Dave :)
     
  8. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Hi Dave, thanks for the update on this. I am gradually learning a little more and can see the benefit of the 802.11n against the 802.11g I have at present with the Linksys WRT54G.

    I will look to see what's around, but when changing from the present router, can the old one (g) be used as a booster elsewhere in the home, or is this not practical?

    Alex
     
  9. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    Well, I've own 4 routers and my second one was the Linksys model that you are now using - never needed an additional 'wireless' access point (WAP) to extend my Wi-Fi signal, but did do a little searching and apparently that router can be used as a WAP (check HERE) - NOW, the important condition is that it has to be used w/ one of two Linksys products (which are listed) - Linksys is actually owned by Cisco (which makes a LOT of networking stuff!), so maybe there are other options - you would need to contact them for more specifics.

    However, that is an old router w/ outdated technology - for myself, I would still upgrade to 802.11n and see if the range problem is solved w/ that change alone. If not, then obtaining a WAP would be the next step - good luck. Dave :)
     
  10. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Thanks Dave, that was my thinking first of all. I presume that when switching routers, some changes will be required to my PC, my Laptop and to my iPad to enable them to see each other. Hope this is not too difficult as I am no IT specialist.

    What model did you go for when upgrading?

    Alex
     
  11. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    Hi again Alex - as to a new router, depends on what's available in your locale and what you want to invest - in the spring we switched from PCs (after nearly 30 yrs!) to Apple (MacBook Pro & iMac) - I could not get the iMac to work well w/ my Cisco Valet 802.11n router, so purchased an Apple AirPort Extreme which was about $180 - of course, you can pick up nice routers for half that price. I would suggest searching online for recently reviewed routers,e.g. checkout the PC Magazine & PC World websites (such as HERE) - make sure the reviews are from this year for the latest brands & models; also, google 'best 802.11n wireless routers for a bunch of hits. Now, there is a newer protocol (802.11ac) but IEEE's final approval likely will not be until this fall or later?

    As to setup, I'm assuming that you have a broadband modem (cable or DSL) - I have my cable modem going into the WAN port of the AirPort Extreme and then an ethernet cable from one of the LAN ports into my iMac; each router brand will have fairly simple instructions for a 'basic' setup (all that you likely need) - some have 'easy' setup buttons and/or browser configuration programs (like your Linksys 54G); for my Apple router, there is an app called AirPort Utility instead of a browser option; so you'll just have to see what the brand name directions will be - the reviews might also give you a clue as to ease of setup? You will also need to setup wireless security (WPA2 is what I am using). Good luck and I hope you get a stronger signal! Dave
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Thanks once again Dave. I think that about covers it. Will take steps to upgrade soon.

    All the best

    Alex
     
  13. Mini_mi

    Mini_mi iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi alex101,

    I"ve owned many router throughout the years. Since switching to apple tablets and computers, I have found using the AirPort Extreme the best option. Extending the network (strengthening the signal), is as easy as adding an Airport Express in the room where the signal is weak. When setting up the Express you will be asked if you to use it in bridge mode. Answer yes. Your done. For the non network savy individual, this will work fine.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  14. Alex101

    Alex101 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham - UK in the center of England
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Thanks Mini_mi, the only Apple I have is the iPad. The other equipment is PC's and laptop,

    Alex
     
  15. giradman

    giradman iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,078 / 0
    Hi Alex - just for clarification (although you may already know - if so, sorry), the Apple networking hardware (AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express, & Time Capsule) are completely compatible w/ PCs, so that should not be a consideration if you want to review these products; there is a Windows version of the AirPort Utility that I mentioned in a previous post. So, if interested look at their reviews - in fact, when I purchased my AirPort Extreme, a newer model was about to be released w/ the 802.11ac protocol (info HERE) - Dave :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

router