What dual-band router are you using?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by jmkiska, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. jmkiska
    Offline

    jmkiska iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm a 3G'er so I still don't have my iPad, but I would like to have everything in place for when it arrives. I have an old Linksys WRT54G router that I'm thinking of replacing. Although my new iMac, MacBook Pro and iPad can use 802.11n, our iPod Touches still only use 802.11b/g, so I'm thinking of switching to a dual-band router. With all of the discussions going on about the iPad WiFi "issues", I was wondering which dual-band routers are working the best with the iPad?
  2. Edlex
    Offline

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the Linksys WRT600N. I'm hoping it wont be an issue for me but since it has 2 radios. I can always name the b/g radio a different name so the ipad doesnt get confused. Now if I could just get my 3G already then I can find out.
  3. wot_fan
    Offline

    wot_fan iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    I have the Apple Airport Extreme. So far I haven't had any issues with it.

    One of the things I really like about it is that I can setup two networks on it. The first is my private network. The second is a public network that only shares my Internet connection. It is great to have a network guests can connect to without worrying that they will see any of my personal files.
  4. brhon
    Offline

    brhon iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washintgon, MI
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the 2Wire for Uverse, I am connected to the wireless connection from the 2wire although i am using base station with my HP printer.
  5. LMControl
    Offline

    LMControl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've got one of those D-Link dual band routers and used to have issues with my Mac Book Pro with it about a year ago. Once I forced it into one-band mode I've never had another problem with WiFi for any of my devices.

    Since last Saturday with the iPad, I've experienced no issues whatsoever. It's deadly quick! :)
  6. Wolffmann34
    Offline

    Wolffmann34 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the Cisco WRT610N, I am running the iPad on the N connection (I named them differently so I could tell which was which) and it is very quick.

    Only thing on my N connection is my Mac Book Pro and the iPad.
  7. rtking
    Offline

    rtking iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I had the Linksys WRT54GX4 and it worked pretty well, but my iPhone never really linked up to it well. I changed to two Airport Extreme Base Stations (using one as a repeater.). I realized quickly that I didn't need two AEBS as one easily out-performed the Linksys. Having two now means that I have zero "dead areas" in my tri-level townhouse. I have full signal strength in every room and both patios, and all my laptops and the iPhone connect and have much faster upload/download speeds than with the Linksys.
  8. Buckeyechuck
    Offline

    Buckeyechuck iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a dlink dir655 router. I did have problems with the connection until I updated router firmware. So far it has worked great!
  9. jmkiska
    Offline

    jmkiska iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks everyone for your feedback. I was thinking of an Apple Airport Extreme Base Station but that is another $150 on top of the 64GB-3G iPad. It sounds like almost any dual-band router will will as long as you set it up correctly by naming the two networks differently.

    I guess the next question is are they any routers that you would NOT recommend?
  10. rtking
    Offline

    rtking iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I picked-up my Airport Extreme base stations from eBay for $75 (each) including shipping. After my experience with them, they are worth the $150 retail price IMO. I think other routers work fine, but if you can snag a AEBS off eBay for <$80, I think you'd be pretty happy with the performance vs cost.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

apple and dual band routers problem

,

can ipad or iphone use dual band router?

,

do i need a dual band router to use my iphone

,

dual band for ipad

,

dual band ipad

,

iphone 5 problems with dual band cisco router

,

linksys dual band router ipad

,

lynksis dual band and iphone problems

,

macbook pro can support dual band signal

,

will dual band router work on ipad2

,

will ipad connect yo dual band router