1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Restore Factory settings to reset IOS

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by joepauljig, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. joepauljig
    Offline

    joepauljig iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello,

    I just had a quick question that I couldn't find the answer to. If I did a factory reset on my Ipad 2, would it reset the IOS back to the factory version? I just recently bought my Ipad 2 and I believe it came stock with 4.3.3 and I took the 2 updates to get it to 4.3.5 before reading and discovering that version of the IOS can't be jailbroken. I was hoping since this is a new Ipad and I didn't have that much stuff on it, then I could just reset it and then run jailbrake and all would be well.

    Would this work?
  2. iFrog
    Offline

    iFrog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina - US
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    That will not work, unless you saved the SHSH Bolbs for 4.3.3
    There is no way for you to go back to 4.3.3 without it and they are specific to your device.
  3. GapsterLeFayt
    Offline

    GapsterLeFayt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you a restore to factory settings will the ipad2 be as if you just bought it from the shop?

    ie. can you start everything from scratch?

    The reason I ask is it's present for my mother-in-law. If I set it all up in France to check it's all OK can I then 'wipe clean' all my info and start afresh in Belgium?
  4. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    If you do a factory restore on let's say iOS5.0.1 It will then be restored to iO5.0.1 with all of your data and settings gone. It will not restore to iOS3 (which came with my iPad).

    Sent from my jailbroken K48,
  5. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Yes but read my last post

    Sent from my jailbroken K48,
  6. GapsterLeFayt
    Offline

    GapsterLeFayt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks. Is it then possible to update to iOS3 after a factory reset?
  7. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    Sorry, but no. The only firmware you can put on an iPad after a restore is the latest and greatest - which, today, is iOS 5.0.1. And besides, going to iOS 3 is not an update (that was two major firmware updates ago). iOS 5 is where the Apple world is...

    So, fresh out of the box in this case means as if you bought it today - nothing on it but stock Apple apps and iOS 5.0.1 firmware.

    Hope this clarifies.

    Marilyn
  8. GapsterLeFayt
    Offline

    GapsterLeFayt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ahh, I see. So whatever happens it will restore to the 'current' system. ie. iOS 5.0.1.

    Just one more thing, as I'm a bit of a numpty... If I install Skype for ipad2 on it, try it out, then do a restore to factory settings is it going to allow me to re-download skype again when I get to Belgium and start afresh??
  9. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Yes, open iTunes on your iPad, then go to the purchased tab, scroll to your Skype App and touch the cloud icon.

    The Archangel

    Attached Files:

  10. GapsterLeFayt
    Offline

    GapsterLeFayt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So, do I have to purchase skype for Ipad2 via itunes?

    From what I can gather there is a free download for Ipad, so now I'm confused....
  11. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Every app you download / own will appear on the purchased tab, whether they are free or paid. It's just terminology and a place to find your apps. Don't sweat it.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i reset ipad to ios 6

,
can resetting a ipad stop a hacker
,
does a factory reset on ipad take you back to the original ios
,
does factory reset restore original ios
,

does resztoring ur iphone take it back to the factory version of ios

,
does the ios getsrestored to its factory setting when doing reset on ipad
,

downgrade ipad 2 ios factory

,

how do i reset my ipad to original status when i bought

,
how to do a factory rest on ipad2 on ios7
,
if i factory reset my ipad does it go back to original ios
,

if i reset my ipad will it go back to the original ios

,
ios 7.0 reset
,
ipad does a reset revert ios
,
reset ios.version
,
reset ipad ios 7.0
,
resolve itunes unknown error 14
,
restore factory
,
restore hack ipad to original
,
will doing a hard reset on ipad go back to original os
,
will factory reset revert to old ios