Remote Desktop App

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by tse, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. tse
    Offline

    tse iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey guys. I'm getting a 2011 iMac with an iPad 2 in a week for university next year. I want a remote desktop app but can't decide between iteleport, logmeinignition, and jump desktop. Here are my requirements:

    No monthly fee
    Must be compatible with the apple Bluetooth keyboard
    Must work over wifi and 3G
    Must be fast, Probably going to watch hulu on the iPad
    Be mac and windows compatible
    Be able to turn on my iMac from my iPad or wake it from sleep
    Must have sound ~ I am aware jump only has sound in windows so is it possible to log in my bootcamp partition from my iPad in jump?

    What I want it be able to do is give me the closest experience to a laptop as possible, so speed is important.

    Also, a couple questions:

    1. Is it possible to use a remote desktop app without having the iMac's screen on?

    2. Is it possible to boot up/wake the iMac from sleep from the iPad over internet?

    Thank you!
  2. iforsakenu
    Offline

    iforsakenu iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey I would absolutely recommend Splastop! $.99 and no monthly or annual subscription. Very fluent, quick and NO lag. Can be used on separate networks with a bit of configuration via your router being accessed by the stationary computer of choice. This supports Mac & Windows OS's. Hope this helps
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Splashtop for me too. Just can't be beat - and the remote access feature is a breeze.

    No competition....

    Tim
  4. iforsakenu
    Offline

    iforsakenu iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Agreed NONE!!!
  5. sunny day
    Offline

    sunny day iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I tried Splashtop and couldn't get it to work. I've been away from computers in the work place so long that I have lost what little knowledge I had which wasn't much. I used to be a pretty intuitive user, but now I need specific, step-by-step instructions.
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,481
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,867 / 0
    I like the idea of Splashtop.

    However, I've never been able to figure out - how to login to a PC that's "sleeping"? If I have to log in, Splashtop will not connect to the computer.

    Is there any way around this?

    Thanks.

    Marilyn
  7. extendedforecast
    Offline

    extendedforecast iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi...if it helps I wrote a pretty detailed tutorial here about a month ago on configuring your router to work with splashtop on remote networks. A similar tutorial can be found on the spashtop website - but its easy and pretty much 100% relaiable unlike than the gmail login.

    Also, get to your device settings and allowing your computer to wake on LAN (meaning network activity can bring the computer out of sleep mode.) In Windows 7 this is in the network card device settings. But on Mac...I'm not sure...may be in the power management settings?

    Sent from my Android 3.1 Motorola Xoom Tablet!
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,507
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,396 / 1
    Energy Saver, close enough anyway. :)
  9. sunny day
    Offline

    sunny day iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Where is your tutorial? I looked at the website, but did not find anything that applied to my router. It is a Cisco.
  10. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Do you have the desktop streamer on the desktop and app on the Ipad?
    Are you trying to use it from home network of the desktop or away from home of it?
    Just trying to find how far you got before getting stuck.

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
  11. iforsakenu
    Offline

    iforsakenu iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Make sure you go to splashtop's website and download the streamer to your Mac or PC. It is a painless process that is automatic if you have both apps downloaded, iPad and Mac/PC!
  12. iforsakenu
    Offline

    iforsakenu iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not starting anything, but what are you in an iPad forum on a Failroid? Lol
  13. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    To annoy you .
    It must have affected you some to make you jack a thread to ask.

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  14. sunny day
    Offline

    sunny day iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I had both but iPad still could not find my computer. I have Norton and did everything I could think of to the firewall and still didn't work.
  15. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Are you using it on the home network or away?
    If away you need a Gmail address.
    On the desktop open the Splashtop, go into settings , click experimental features, put in your Gmail address and give it a password.
    Do the same thing on the Ipad.
    Please post back with the results.

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
  16. sunny day
    Offline

    sunny day iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home network
  17. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Is the Splashtop desktop giving you an IP address? I had to input mine manually on my iPad the first time. It worked fine after that
    To do that I opened the Splashtop on the iPad, tapped the "+" in the upper left and copied the info my desktop streamer gave.
    Let us know if that helps.


    Support Our Troops!
    This post was Tapatalk approved
    Sent from wherever I'm at right now via my Apple tablet
  18. sunny day
    Offline

    sunny day iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Can't remember what I did. That was several days ago but seems like I did. I will try again in the next day or so.
  19. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Ok. Post back if that doesn't work. Your firewall shouldn't be the problem.


    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
  20. iforsakenu
    Offline

    iforsakenu iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You have to allow incoming remote connections via your network and sharing options through the control panel. Then go into your firewall and make an exception for splashtop to connect to your PC.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
2013 remote wake up a imac?
,
apple remote desktop vs jump desktop
,
brookstone bluetooth keyboard for ipad 2 problems with remote desktop
,

does jump desktop have a monthly fee

,
does jump desktop have a subscription fee?
,
ipad remote desktop imac
,
ipad remote imac desktop
,
ipad remote wake up imac
,
ipad to imac remote desktop configuration
,
jump app for imac
,
jumpdesktop mac sleep
,
jumpdesktop wake from sleep
,
remote desktop app for ipad and imac
,
remote desktop ipad to imac
,
remote desktop on ipad 2
,
wake on lan op imac
,
wake up imac with ipad app
,
windows remote workplace