Remote App not working on iPad2 but does work on iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Paul80, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. Paul80
    Offline

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Guys

    Like many on the various Apple Help Forums I an still having problems getting the Remote App to work on my iPad2.

    I have found that I can enter the 4 digit code but I can only do this if I connect myWindows7 based PC to the router by a wireless dongle, if I connect by a cable connection I do not get my iPad show up in the devices section of iTunes and do not get the option to add the 4 digit code.

    So with the PC on the wireless network I add the 4 digit code the remote app then starts looking for my Library and then displays "Could not find"

    I also have access to an iPod Touch and if I do the same the remote app will find my Library and I am able to control it.

    I have checked all the settings on both the iPad2 and the Ipod Touch and every thing is set the same.

    I have tried it with the PC's Firewall turned on and off and that makes no difference.

    Why ho why will my iPad not find the Library when the iPod will.

    One othe thing I have noticed is the option to search for remotes in iTunes is no longer there in the prefrences but it does show that I am paired with 2 remotes.

    Anyone got any other thoughts on why I am having this connection issue.

    Thanks

    Paul
  2. Paul80
    Offline

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just as I thought I was getting somewhere the iPod Touch can not find the library now.

    This is Sooooooooo Frustrating.

    Paul
  3. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    If you and others are having similar probs, how about contacting the developer?
  4. Paul80
    Offline

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    And just as suddenly, I have just done a re-set of both the iPad2 and the iPod Touch and miraculously both are now working and controlling iTunes.

    I wonder how long it will last?

    Paul
  5. OzzieBruce
    Offline

    OzzieBruce iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cambodia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This might help as it has for me.
    Go to setting
    Select Wifi
    Select your home wifi netwok
    Select "forget this connection"
    Rejoin your Wifi

    Do same on your PC
    Slect "home" as type of connection.

    I spent hours trying to nut this out. I had selected another option which made my PC invisible and therefore unable to connect using the remote app.

    I hope it helps
    Regards
    Bruce
  6. Paul80
    Offline

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    All problems with the remote app are now resolved and its working fine on both my iPod Touch and my iPad2.

    And the problem was !!!!!!

    My Router, I was using the one supplied by my telecoms provider (TalkTalk) as soon as I replaced it with a Linksys one everything worked first time.

    And there was me blaming Apple.

    Paul

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
aio remote app for ipad not working
,
apple itunes remote app not working
,

apple remote app not working

,
apple remote app not working on ipad
,
getting rokumote ipad to work
,
ipad app remote not working
,
ipad remote app does not work
,

ipad remote app not working

,
itunes app on ipad2 not working
,
itunes remote app not working
,
itunes remote not working with new itunes
,
remote app and ipad not working
,
remote app does not work for between apply tv and ipad 2
,

remote app for ipad not working

,
remote app not working on ipad 2
,
remote desktop app not working ipad
,
remote for ipad
,
remote ipad app not working
,
the ipad app tv remote not working
,
why does apple remote app ipad not work