Quasar

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by gonefishing, May 24, 2012.

  1. gonefishing
    Offline

    gonefishing iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Nobody is using this tweak?
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,442
    Thanks Received:
    1,713
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,832 / 0
    I'm keeping it under consideration, once I am able to jail break my iPad3. It looks very cool and I would like to try it. The problem is, I had an iPad1 that was jail broke, but I don't know how well it would work on a device with half the RAM of the iPad2 or one fourth the RAM of the iPad3.

    So, I wait...

    Have you tried it?

    Marilyn
  3. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I have it. It is a novelty at first but not practical to use.

    I may remove it.
  4. geek_riot
    Offline

    geek_riot iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Question, if you don't mind. The only reason I bought the iPad over an Android tab is this tweak. I really really want to watch netflix while surfing the web. Any idea if that is possible?
  5. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I dont have the netflix app but I tested it with youtube and you can certainly watch videos and browse at the same time.

    Dont get me wrong, the tweak is very well done. But in my opinion it is not practical to have it activated for every day tasks.
  6. c_strong
    Offline

    c_strong iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    does this works well on ipad 2 ?, no lag / slow issues ?
  7. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Not in my case. The only paiful part is that you need to respring to activate it or deactivate it, and that gestures dont work when it is activated it.
  8. iRaptor25
    Offline

    iRaptor25 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've been using it for Netflix, Twitch TV, etc. and it works great for that.

    Its too annoying to have to hit full screen every time to leave it on during normal use, so you do have to re-spring it on/off when you need it, but respringing takes about 10 seconds so not that big of a deal. It would be great if it gets updated to allow easier switching in/out of multi-window mode, but I still find it well worth $10 to have that functionality available anyway.

    Its also a way to force some apps to run in the background(well, not really the background) that normally shut down after 10 minutes per Apples rules. I imagine it will come in handle for something else here and there too. Referencing something and such.

    So yeah it may have limited uses but it works very well. Aside from a way to activate/deactivate the window mode without re-springing, the one other thing I would really like is if you could run one app full screen with another pinned on top of it TV PIP style so you could make better use of the screen space. As is I put the video in horizontal mode taking up 1/3 the width but wasting most of that sides height, and then a browser in verticle orientation taking up the rest of the sceren.
    Last edited: May 25, 2012
  9. Sundar2012
    Offline

    Sundar2012 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Installed it and have it disabled. It's not a tweak that would ever be a daily driver but I can see using it at work if I'm mirroring a presentation and website to a tv.
  10. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I agree with Gzoladz...it's a fun novelty at first but it becomes cumbersome after a while. Plus my ipad resprung on it's own while I was using it so I uninstalled it. The concept is great. It would be nice if you need to copy & past between apps or multitask...I really wanted it to work smoothly. But it is a GREAT start. A few bug fixes and this tweak just might be the best!!!

    To geek_riot...In Android it is VERY easy to switch between apps especially in Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0.4)
  11. geek_riot
    Offline

    geek_riot iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah, I had the new transformer (not the prime, but the tf300t). ICS is wonderful, but I only see one option for running two apps in windows side by side. It is something called cornerstone, and it has to be baked into the rom. So for now the iPad is the only practical option (aside from a windows tablet).
  12. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I meant the app switcher built into ICS (the 2 squares overlapping one another in the navigation bar). But I have tried cornerstone on Thor's TegraOwner's rom for the Acer Iconia A500....it's a good novelty but buggy. Plus the developers stopped support on it & there will be no further development. Quasar wasn't all that smooth & like I said it caused a reboot of my iPad. I am VERY leery on some of the tweaks on the iPad compared to Android because iOS is a closed system & much easier for issues to occur. Since Android is open & MEANT to be open any bugs that may occur usually are just force closes of apps. Quasar really is a big modification of how iOS was meant to work works.
  13. uberlinuxgeek
    Offline

    uberlinuxgeek iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have ran it, but the issue I have is with the developer. He has already pushed all his efforts to the iPad3 and left the original issues unaddressed. I have tried contacting hip several times with no reponse. 10$ and limited support, buyer beware if you have issues. Not worth the cost without support
  14. lesio
    Offline

    lesio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have on my IPad 3 and it is not ready yet
    Facetime didn't work, black screen, apps designed for iPhone had screwed up window
    native gestures like for and five fingers didn't work.
    This app has a potential but too buggy to use at this moment
  15. guthrien
    Offline

    guthrien iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    It's such a unique tweak and potentially more useful on my iPad 3 with the greater resolution. I wish this developer would fix the obvious issue with how you activate it or not, and make it more flexible to use.
  16. feng
    Offline

    feng iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have installed it, but now, I can not link the wifi of our university, the wifi of our university is webwifi.
  17. gonefishing
    Offline

    gonefishing iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Using it if i need to listen to radio streaming in the background other than not..not really useful, it's something I think nice to have when you need it
  18. rivervillageperson
    Offline

    rivervillageperson iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's very buggy on my iPad 1, I found that apps don't just crash, they freeze and force a complete restart. I am however learning which apps work, and this morning have 4 apps open without crashing. I added fullforce, I have no idea why it would add stability, it is probably just a coincidence. I did email the developer, he probably has a canned response, but to his credit he is trying to communicate. I think the app would be great for presentations, also running videos and radio streams in the background. Kind of pricey for such a buggy program, my suggestion to the developer was to offer a sale until he gets the worst bugs figured out (I think he is also adding requested features, which adds complexity to a fix). App has lots of potential, if you are willing to risk $10 it may be worth it as a novelty, but as a reliable tool it may not be ready yet.
  19. dynomonkey
    Offline

    dynomonkey iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Quasar, It's buggy. After installation on my iPad 3/5.1.1 it would not stay connected to wifi. Stayed connected fine to cellular. Uninstalled quasar and everything is working fine now. So I am looking for an alternative app for multitasking. Anyone have a good alternative?
  20. dynomonkey
    Offline

    dynomonkey iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Anyone know a better program to multi-task than quasar?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
alternatives to quasar for ipad
,
facetime fix for quasar
,
facetime quasar
,

how to uninstall quasar

,

quasar

,

quasar alternative android

,
quasar crashes ipad
,

quasar facetime fix

,

quasar freezes ipad

,
quasar ipad 3
,
quasar not working
,
quasar para ipad
,
quasar works for ipad now
,
quasar+for+ipad 2
,
quaser
,
quezar fop ipad 2
,
remove quasar ipad
,
why does quasar crash my ipad
,
why does quasar not work on my ipad
,
why is quasar not working