New 3G iPad says "No Service"

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by joepemberton, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. joepemberton

    joepemberton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Been using an iPad 3G since March. Love it. Just got another one to give as a gift. It's an open box deal from Best Buy, so I know someone must have had it configured and using it at some point.

    However, now that I've restored it, and reset everything it is saying "No Service" when I try to create a new cellular data plan. I know AT&T has service, since my own iPad 3G is working on the 3G data network.

    Another anomaly, the new iPad iOS 3.2.2, has an APN settings option, under network preferences that is not present on my iOS 4.2 iPad 3G. Its set to "broadband" as other iPad forums suggest is correct for AT&T.

    Help?
     
  2. mwmom

    mwmom
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trying to set one up for my mom today and had the same problem. Try turning Airplane Mode on and then off again under Settings. For some reason, this worked on hers. Suddenly it found the 3G network when I turned it off.
     
  3. NumbLock

    NumbLock
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Thanks Received:
    32
    There is a SIM card installed, right?
     
  4. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    How would you know that? :eek:
     
  5. Dannyboy85

    Dannyboy85
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Thanks Received:
    2
  6. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Well, shitums. I found it! I don't have a sim's eject tool. So what is on this card and do we ever have to take it out?
     
  7. Dannyboy85

    Dannyboy85
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Thanks Received:
    2
    It's just your account info. Most people use a paperclip to eject it. I would guess just like the AT&T iPhone4 they assume you don't need in there and don't send a sim tool with it.
     
  8. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Thanks Danny, I had no clue.:eek:
     
  9. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    SIM = Subscriber Identity Module
     
  10. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    As far as taking it out, our company gives us new BlackBerries every other year or so and all we have to do is take the SIM card out of our old one and put it in our new one and we have the same phone number and everything else that ties the phone to us.

    If you ever got a new iPad 3g (repair or upgrade), you could take out your current SIM card and just put it in your new one.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
ipad 2 no service
,
ipad no service
,
ipad saying no service
,

ipad says no service

,
ipad says no service 3g
,

my ipad says no service

,
no service ipad 3g
,
no service on ipad
,
why does my ipad say no service
,
why is my ipad saying no service