What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad sensor data telemetry

Giovanni LiCalsi

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a newbie on this forum and searching for information on how I can use my iPhone as a dashboard on my electric
motor bicycle. I would like to have wireless telemetry for temperature, voltage and speed.
Thank you,
Giovanni

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I saw a gadget for some cars advertised once (plugged into the car's computer), but nothing for a motorbike.

Your best bet would be to look on forums for the motorbike, or the manufacturer's site, to see if they've got anything. It is highly unlikely you'll find anything generic, given there is (as far as I know) no standard computer interface for motorbikes, even electric ones.

At any rate, let us know what manufacturer and model the bike is, just in case someone here does have the same bike and has a solution for you.

Good luck.

OP
G

Giovanni LiCalsi

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thank you for your reply.
I am custom building an electric bicycle.
There are some EV bicycles and motorcycles that have iPhone telemetry but haven't found anything for the DIY builders.
The Flykly EV bicycle has the best example.
The only thing that I have found is the Spektrum STI telemetry system. I can put together this for around $200.00.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
If you tied your sensors together with a Raspberry Pi (small cheap computer on a board), you could use it's bluetooth to communicate with the phone; but you'd have to write your own app; which will need a paid developer account and a Mac. All of which means quite a bit more time and money invested.