Ipad 2 - 4 use Overseas

Discussion in 'iPad Travel Forum' started by betaneko, May 12, 2011.

  1. confuse
    Offline

    confuse iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philippines
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi thewit,

    thanks, so when i bring my ipad2 in canada and purchase gift card there then it will work?.. i will used the card while im canada? even my ipad is bought in philippines...
  2. poncotop
    Offline

    poncotop iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    hi there...

    if you bought a gift card from a certain country, it doesn't matter where you use it, as long as you have an itunes account that is from the same countrynas your Gift Card.

    i once bought a US gift card, before i use it, i asked my friend that lived in the US to make me a US itunes account. then, i just logged in to itunes using that US account, and redeemed the code that's on the gift card.

    after that i can directly downloaded the software that i need, even though i lived a long way from US, which is Indonesia...
  3. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    I guess I should have said gift cards can only be used in the iTunes store for the country they were purchased in. I bought some in the US store and gave as gifts to friends in Malaysia. They were unable to use them because their iTunes accounts were in the Malaysia iTunes store.

    Though I am living in Malaysia my iTunes account is in the US iTunes store.

    To have a US iTunes account you need a credit card with a US billing address...

    -t
  4. poncotop
    Offline

    poncotop iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    yeah i know, that's why i said you'll need a friend that can make you a US itunes account (or maybe lend it to you) ;););)

    and that what friends are for, rite...???
    ;););)
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
  6. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    Nice find Tim. Neat workaround.

    -t
  7. confuse
    Offline

    confuse iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philippines
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks guys,

    can i use 2 or more itunes account? 1 in every country?.. ah billing address? hmm

    i have read in one website that a shop in hongkong can open a US itunes account and buy girft card from them. it cost more though than buying in US, but its good enough!..
    other thing is that US itune store gives more variety games and apps, than other stores,

    or ask freind to "gift to me" then pay for it to them, makes life easier..technically.

    and just get a philippines itune store..
  8. jejui
    Offline

    jejui iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I Live outside the US and I wonder if buying an AT&T iPad 3G "used like new" that offers on Amazon or sites like this should solve the need to be activated first in the US.

    Sorry if I sound a little naive, the thing is that I bought my first iPad Wifi only (1st gen.) in that condition and I couldn't tell if it was used at all.
  9. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    There is no requirement to activate first in the US. Just replace the AT&T SIM card with one from your carrier and go

    New or used iPad doesn't matter.

    -t
  10. krissu
    Offline

    krissu iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    User confirmation: Ipad 2 3g - at&t can be used with any sim card with no req.

    The title should settle it all :)
    The problem was, it turned out that the foreign sim card owner (that we tested to the ipad) forgot that she has a sim card pin to it.
    Once she punched in the pin, voila... it's ready to go!
    So people, go get your ipad 2 3g GSM without any hestitation!!! :)

    Best Regards!
  11. h1611161
    Offline

    h1611161 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UAE
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes I can vouch for that too. I got a friend in Houston to buy Le iPad Classic in Texas, ship it to UAE where I picked it up by FedEx and then activated it with a local SIM, recently travelled to India, again bought a local 3G sim - and all of them worked out of the box. You have to be careful about ther APN Settings to be made in SETTINGS/CELLULAR DATA tab. The customer service in INDIA did that for me on a one minute phone call.. Even the Indian Government Cellular operator had Micro SIM on hand at the arrival lounge in their office.....cool... it's great to know that them all have had these things ready for the iPad......

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  12. kirkman
    Offline

    kirkman iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indoneisa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    helpp plsss

    hi i am from indonesia...
    my brother also bought me an ipad 2 3g+wifi 64gb... but i cant find any sim card slot... as i found out from the settings, the carrier showed verizon ==".. can i just change the carrier in indonesia... i am so upset hahhaa i would highly appreciate ig you can help me......
  13. h1611161
    Offline

    h1611161 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UAE
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's a tiny window, there's a tool in your box push it in and a tiny drawer comes out...plug in your micro sim and lo and behold, you're ON.... At least that's how it works on my first generation iPad...

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  14. jejui
    Offline

    jejui iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi everyone!
    Thanks for the info thewitt and krissu.
    Kind regards
  15. poncotop
    Offline

    poncotop iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yeah, it's a very tiny hole...
    don't hesitate to push it...

    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  16. vinvan
    Offline

    vinvan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi everyone ... I've been using iPad 2 for a week now :) it's a great device.
    I bought it in Best Buy and activated it in Indonesia instead of in USA.
    It works well and it is OK because iPad 2 is already unlocked.

    Hope this experience will be a little help ....
  17. henpit2kays
    Offline

    henpit2kays iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi How to sync our bb memo/note,contact to ipad?
    I try backup bb to mac book using bb desktop, but always corrupt.
    But went fine using microsoftoutlook.
    Im using mac book so im stuck ,pls got any adv?
    Thx

    Trims[/QUOTE]
  18. Deilei
    Offline

    Deilei iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there anyway to unlock a Verizon 3G ipad2? I live in Africa but bought a verizon iPad in error. We have CDMA carriers here. So if there is a way to unlock it, I can use it with one of the CDMA carriers here. Pleeeeeeeaaase help.........
  19. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    This thread is old, so the information is outdated. Some buyers complained when iPad 1 first came out that they were having trouble activating after buying an iPad in the U.S. and taking it abroad, but many buyers have since said that they've been able to activate their U.S.-purchased iPads abroad without problem.

    So I'd suggest buying whatever iPad suits your needs as far as GSM or CDMA.
  20. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    Verizon iPads don't have a SIM slot.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
buying an ipad that is compatible overseas
,
can i unlock at&t ipad 4 for overseas use
,
can i use ipad 2 overseas
,
can i use my ipad 2 withn wifi overseas
,
can i use my ipad overseas
,
can i use the ipad 2 in other country like philippines
,
can the new ipad 4 be used overseas
,
can you use i pad sims abroad
,
can you use my ipad overseas if not activated
,
how to buy ipad for overseas use
,

international sim card for ipad 2

,

ipad 2 international sim card

,
ipad 4 abroad
,
set up an ipad bought in the usa for use overseas
,
tablets that can be used overseas
,
use ipad bought overseas in the us
,

use of i pad 4 overseas

,

using ipad overseas

,
when indonesian buys an ipad overseas
,
why i cant use my ipad bought in the philippines on u.s. carrier