ipad 1: How to convert demo build to standard retail build?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by mobi1, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. mobi1
    Offline

    mobi1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi

    An ipad newbie here.

    I bought an ipad 1 (16GB Wifi) which was originally a demo model. Now before you say how I got one, here is the answer. I am a staff of that company and got good staff discount on remaining units - so I bought one.

    But being a demo model, iOS has some limitation like it is not allowing me to delete preloaded apps (which is taking up lots of space). Reverting to factory setting takes me back to same demo build!

    Is there any way to load the device with clean standard iOS?

    Thanx
  2. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Greetings and welcome to the forum!

    There are several apps that come with the iOS and can not be deleted, sorry.
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0


    If you just want to delete apps - then that is a restriction you can remove.

    'Settings', 'General', 'Restrictions' (if it's set you'll need the passcode) and then you can remove the restriction that's preventing you from deleting the apps and anything else that's been set up.

    No need to reload iOS or anything as extreme as that.

    If the Restrictions passcode is set, you'll need to get that from your company - there's no way to bypass that.

    Tim
    Scotland
  4. mobi1
    Offline

    mobi1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    There is no Restriction menu under General!
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  6. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ^ or

    Redsn0w for 4.3.1 tethered jailbreak
  7. Sjwred
    Offline

    Sjwred iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire GBR
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Look again, it's there
  8. mobi1
    Offline

    mobi1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I called apple support and they asked me restore again and it worked this time.
  9. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Glad you got it sorted; I've never come across an iPad without 'Restrictions' under 'General'. Was this something that was specially put there for your company?

    Tim
  10. mobi1
    Offline

    mobi1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    When a retailer sells ipads in store, they need to keep few models on display for customers to test. These were all loaded with demo iOS build (which restricts many operations). For examples, icons won't wiggle when you press them and you can't remove any preinstalled apps.

    :)

    Happy that now it is back to normal.
  11. Itzxdjx
    Offline

    Itzxdjx iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    R.I.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    O damn I want a deal on an iPad 1!
  12. Asem
    Offline

    Asem iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Help

    can you help me please. I have the same problem but I do not know how did you restore it.
    I have demo Ipad II and have the same problem which you had.
    Help please
    Thanks
  13. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,433
    Thanks Received:
    1,702
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,818 / 0
    Did you try to plug the iPad in to iTunes and then hit the restore button? That is the only way I know - and the way the OP solved it.

    Marilyn
  14. thewitt
    Offline

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,631
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    Demo units from Apple ship with a profile installed that limits what you can do, and removes a number of standard functions. You need to install a version of iOS in Recovery mode to erase this profile.
  15. Blake2323
    Offline

    Blake2323 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Who did I uninstall app

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bought demo ipad steps to change to reg ipad
,
bought ipad 2 demo
,

demo ipad

,
demo ipad restore
,
demo ipad unlocking
,
disattivare demo ipad
,
how do i restore a demo ipad
,
how to change demo ipad
,
how to delete demos on ipod
,
how to factory reset a demo iphone 5
,
how to remove demo content from iphone
,
how to reset a demo ipad
,
how to reset an demo ipad
,

how to reset demo ipad

,
how to reset ipad that was used for demo
,
how to restore demo ipad
,
how to wipe a demo ipad
,
ipad demo model restore
,
remove demo from ipad
,

wipe demo ipad