how to remove old uninstall apps need app like CCleaner or some thing

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by moon982, Dec 26, 2019.

  1. moon982

    moon982
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there a CCleaner app for the iPad or some thing like that? That will remove old uninstall apps? When you remove apps in iPad it still keeps user settings and old stuff.

    A buddy of mind got an iPad well the other person used outlook as the email app but removed the app. My buddy downloaded outlook but to his surprised can log into the other person email because there is no way to log out of outlook and if you remove the app and download it again you are still log in!!

    There is no way to log out of outlook app. And removing the app and downloading the app again you are still log in.

    I don't know how to clean out this cache or temp files of old uninstalled apps. Does anyone here know what to do or any apps like CCleaner app that will help to remove old uninstall app cache?
     
  2. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,563
    Thanks Received:
    7,468
    Hello Moon982 - welcome to the forum! :) When one is selling or giving an iDevice to another, Apple suggests specific steps in preparing the device, including signing out of accounts (particularly those related to iCloud, such as 'Find My...') and then erasing the device - see the suggestions HERE. Apple iOS is a 'sand-boxed' operating system and deleting apps should also rid the data/information associated w/ that program.

    So, provide some more information: 1) Was this device prepared as indicated in the link; and 2) Did whoever donated or sold the iPad to your friend sign out of the appropriate places. I'm not aware of any iPad 'cleaner' apps such as used w/ other OSs, such as macOS or Windows. Your friend can go into Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings and start over (hoping that the donor of the machine indeed signed out of the places indicated). Dave
     
  3. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    21,041
    Thanks Received:
    13,877
    Welcome to iPad Forums!

    As giradman said above, the previous owner should have erased the iPad properly. So that no information stays behind. Is there still the former owner’s iCloud ID active? If so, he will have to contact that person, so that he removes this device from iCloud, or else your friend will have problems with iCloud’s Activation Lock.

    It’s not necessary to use a cleaner app, you cn log out of Outlook in the Outlook app. Tap the house at the top left, then select the settings icon at the bottom left. You’ll see the account(s) used on this device. Tap one of them to get this view:
    1D46504A-760E-4B8A-98AB-43436397E235.jpeg
    Select “Delete Account” to remove it. Do that with every account set up in the app.

    Also make sure that Offload Unused Apps is disabled. You can find that feature in Settings - your name - iTunes & App Store, at the bottom. If it’s enabled, the iPad will keep data and information of the app, and will show everything again when the app is reinstalled.
     
  4. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,563
    Thanks Received:
    7,468
    Good point Johanna on the 'Offload' feature - have our iPads disabled - just curious, but if Offload is enabled and the original owner has 'signed out' and the new one signs into the iTunes/App store w/ another Apple ID, would the data/settings still be downloaded? Of course, if all had been erased on the device in the first place, then assume not even an issue? Dave :)
     
  5. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    21,041
    Thanks Received:
    13,877
    No, they wouldn’t be downloaded automatically.
    When you delete the app, this is what you get with “Offload Apps” disabled:
    5224F617-DB7E-459F-85A7-BE2648198288.jpeg
    After reinstalling, it will offer the account(s) set up within the app before deleting as options. It’s still possible to skip this, and set up your account manually, without using the information provided by the app.
    57FB1809-E2CD-46D5-AAC4-6DC4B263BC59.jpeg

    If the iPad has been erased properly, this will not happen when installing the app.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. moon982

    moon982
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is the thing in outlook I see no log out. I see the Select “Delete Account” to remove it

    But would this not delete the account? Or does this only delete all data for this app but will not delete the account? I'm bit confused what this does.

    Why no log out for outlook?
     
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21,523
    Thanks Received:
    8,054
    It will only remove the account from the app. You can not delete an actual email account using an email app. This is something that has to be done from the admin controls of an account; usually on a website.
     
  8. moon982

    moon982
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did that and than remove the app and downloaded it again and well above the skip and add account option it still shows the other account so it is getting it from some where.

    And yes Offload' feature is disabled

    [QUOTE=" Good point Johanna on the 'Offload' feature - have our iPads disabled - just curious, but if Offload is enabled and the original owner has 'signed out' and the new one signs into the iTunes/App store w/ another Apple ID, would the data/settings still be downloaded? Of course, if all had been erased on the device in the first place, then assume not even an issue? Dave :)Good point Johanna on the 'Offload' feature - have our iPads disabled - just curious, but if Offload is enabled and the original owner has 'signed out' and the new one signs into the iTunes/App store w/ another Apple ID, would the data/settings still be downloaded? Of course, if all had been erased on the device in the first place, then assume not even an issue? Dave :) .[/QUOTE]
     
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21,523
    Thanks Received:
    8,054
    What other Microsoft apps are installed and signed into the same account?
     
  10. moon982

    moon982
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Is it possible it is getting info from iTunes or iCloud? The last time I checked iCloud was disabled. I can check again to make sure.

    When I remove the app and go to app store to download it again it gets a cloud icon very different from all other apps I never downloaded. It seems when I remove app at the app store it changes to a cloud icon.

    Apps I never download don't have this cloud icon at the app store. But apps I remove get this cloud icon at the app store.

    So I have feeling it pulling old settings from some where or the cache is not being clean out when it removes the app.
     

Share This Page