1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Help on using old ipad shsh blobs on new ipad

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by lalalinda, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. lalalinda
    Offline

    lalalinda iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    My old ipad shipped with 3.2.2 was jailbroken with green poison. used it for about 4 months then for the last 2 wks the ipad was moving and selecting things on its own! almost like it was haunted.

    i tried everything from upgrade firmware to 4.2.1 then tried to jailbreak using redsn0w (didnt work), reset, hard reset, restore with back up, and restore as new ipad. still did the same thing. regrettably i brought it back to the apple store commented they never seen an ipad act on its own (go to itunes, wiki, check my email... general settings etc ALL BY ITSELF) so they gave me a new one.

    I saved the shsh blobs and have the 7b500 from my old ipad. I understand that for the time being if i want a jailbreak then i will need to have it teathered. before my ipad went crazy i never had to reboot it anyways so it dosent matter.

    my question is

    1.can i use my blobs from old ipad on new ipad?

    2.if yes step by step instructions ( im using windows 7)

    3.can someone pleeaaasseee tell me how to jailbreak ipad 4.2.1. step by step with working link to the jail break.

    4.if not can i downgrade the firmware to 3.2.2?? considering this is a new ipad and not one that was upgraded, im not sure.

    Thanks

    edit:

    ok, ive finally jailbroken with Redsn0w 0.9.6rc8 in windows xp compatibility mode ran as administrator. is it necessary or possible to put the old baseband on?
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  2. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    Glad you got 4.2.1 jailbroken.

    To answer your last question, it is not necessary or possible at this time to downgrade the iPad baseband.

    Also, to answer the first question, you cannot use SHSH blobs from another device. Otherwise we'd all just share them and there would be no point to them, right?
  3. mathen
    Offline

    mathen iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala,India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Ok ,so can you just tell me how did you jailbreak it, any link? Do you face any problems ?
  4. lalalinda
    Offline

    lalalinda iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    if you search the forum or google you can find the tutorial
  5. lalalinda
    Offline

    lalalinda iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    new problem

    ok, installous wasnt working so i rebooted it and now it just has a black screen, and itunes and tinyumbrella cant see the ipad. when i hold home and power for 10 sec, i get the apple logo and my computer is telling me it cant reconize the ipad.

    dfu doesnt work and since i've been diagnosing ipad for pretty much 2 wks now i do know what i'm doing when it comes to dfu.

    the only life i get from my ipad is the apple logo and the little moving circle thing which is stuck. otherwise the screen is OFF and unresponsive to anything aside from me holding home and power for 10 sec. if i let go of power and keep holding home, i can hear the ipad connect to the computer but there is no recognition from itunes or tiny umbrella.

    arrrggggghhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!

    any help is appreciated.
  6. sh0nuff
    Offline

    sh0nuff iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dunno how you got it stuck without being able to get it into dfu mode... Did you try going through the redsn0w process to see if that works?
  7. lalalinda
    Offline

    lalalinda iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i tried and tried again to get it into dfu. and it just wouldnt work. everytime i plugged it in, it would show the apple sign and i couldnt turn it off.

    my computer said the device was malfunctioned and it couldnt read the device.

    after about 2 hours, itunes saw the device again, restored, jailbreak.

    still not sure how that mess happened but hopefully it wont happen again.

    cant wait for the unteathered.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i transfer ipad shsh to iphone

,

move ipad blob to another ipad