Do I need an iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by ivil, Aug 15, 2012.

1. ivil

ivil
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    I have a special offer on an iPad 2, but I already have a MacBook Pro and and iPhone. What's the advantage (apart from it being fun) of having an iPad, too? I'm a musician, so, as far as I know I can use it to read music and for edidting it, but anything else?
    Covince me, people!

2. darkangelwitch

darkangelwitch
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

Thanks Received:
    I think it depends on what you want it for, I use mine everyday for reading the news, checking emails, writing my book, skyping my brother in Scotland, playing games, web surfing, photos, videos, watching tv, keeping up with the Olympics ..... Shall I go on? LOL

I use mine every single day, my phone is now just a phone as I do absolutely everything else on my iPad, I have hardly used my PC since I got my iPad which has made hubby happy coz now he can use the PC to his hearts content.

Dark Angelwitch (Surrey)

3. ivil

ivil
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Thanks, Dark.
    I do most of these thinks on MacBook already (except reading magazines). You write on the pad? Did you get an extra keyboard or did you get used to the onscreen one?
    Are there specific things which can only be done, or are more comfy to do, on the iPad...?

4. darkangelwitch

darkangelwitch
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

Thanks Received:
    I type using the iPad keyboard, I love a touch screen for typing and I am only a little slower at the moment but speeding up all the time. I sit in my armchair with the iPad resting on a cushion and type away :)

I think all comes down to personal preference, I liked touchscreen before I got the iPad, it was my main reason for getting one.