What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Data grids? I want to be able to display a report!

Myriad_Rocker

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hey all, how's it going? I'm totally new to this thing. I've done a Hello World app using the iPhone SDK and that's about the extent of my knowledge so far. I have a programming background but it's all been Windows based using ASP.Net. I took a C++ class in college but that's as far as my C knowledge goes!

Anyway, the company I work for has charged me with creating an iPhone/iPad app that will allow our customers to run simple reports. We work in the retail world so the reports will show something like sales data by store number. The user keys in the store number(s), hits "GO", and a report pops up in a datagrid.

Problem is, I want to just simply start with trying to populate a datagrid with some data and I don't know how to get started. I've researched, Googled, and even followed a tutorial on the Table View object (was NO help and their XCode interface had different things than mine did).

So...how do I go about getting started with doing something like this? I just want to be able to connect to a database and run some sql to fetch some data back into a datagrid. Seems easy enough and I could do it pretty quickly in an ASP.Net environment, but this whole iPhone/iPad thing is new to me.

Appreciate any help.

MikesTooLz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
Weather.Team
To get this up quickly I suggest you use what you already know. ASP.net before moving to something more complicated like populating tableviews and making data grids.