What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Learn Objective-C or hire a programmer on eLance.com?

Max iPad

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm so in love with the iPad platform that I want to start developing some apps for it. I have zero programming knowledge, but lots of graphic design and HTML/CSS skills.

Would it be worth learning Objective-C in-depth (and how much would I truly have to learn to develop a decent app?), or would it be better to simply learn as much as I can about the iPhone SDK and Objective-C and then hire somebody to do the actually programming? In other words, I'd do the layout, buttons, etc

Just weighing what's the best use of my time, effort, and money (I don't mind paying a programmer if it's in the $500-$2,000 range).

Thanks for any insight!

John

lilman

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Designing the interface is nothing compared to programming the app. If you pay for a programmer then they would probably get a big cut of the app profits, right?

I don't know Objective C but I've heard it's a pain. If you want to do the programming yourself then start with learning C, or better yet go straight to C++. You should be able to use C/C++ in the backend of the app and just use Objective C whenever necessary (for example, I think the interface has to be in Objective C).

MikesTooLz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
Weather.Team
Pick up the book called "Beginning iPhone DevelopeMent". Apress is the publisher.
They will get up up an making apps in no time at all (hours).

However, if you have now prior C programming knowledge you may have to just read each chapter 3-4 times until things click and you understand exactly why things are done they way they are.

OP
M

Max iPad