Capacity on ipad 2

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by willtrvl, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. willtrvl

    willtrvl
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you have a 16g iPad. What does your capacity say in your settings?
    Just curious cause mine says 14 available.
    If you have a 32 g does it say 30?
     
  2. willtrvl

    willtrvl
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I meant under capacity not available.
    Thanks
     
  3. The Kleaner

    The Kleaner
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've got a 64GB iPad 2 and mines shows 59.1
     
  4. willtrvl

    willtrvl
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh okay, I guess some space was used for other applications.
    Thanks...
     
  5. phxflyboy

    phxflyboy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I, too, have a 16GB iPad and it also shows 14GB. That is normal for devices like this. You never get a full xxGB due to the way memory is calculated, space for iOS, etc. The really dumb part is there was actually a class action lawsuit a few years ago over this very topic and some companies had to pay out, I guess for false advertising of memory capacities. Whatever.

    phxflyboy

    Sent from my iPad
     
  6. howell

    howell
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have a 16 GB White iPad 2. Mine only shows 13.5 GB for Capacity. Where is my other 500 MB? Why am I more angry now? Crap.
     
  7. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    I wonder: If the missing GBs are for firmware, shouldn't they be consistent across all models? Like if firmware takes up 2GB, shouldn't it be 2GB on a 16GB model, as well as a 64GB model? But that's not the case. So what's locking up the extra GBs on a 64GB model?
     
  8. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Perhaps different versions of iOS? Also, it's traditional to measure disk capacity in units of 1000 - so a 32 GB disc is 32,000,000,000 bytes. But computer memory (RAM) is measured in units of 1024 (2^10). So a 64 GB disc is often reported by the OS as having 64/1.024 GB. I'm not sure if this applies to the iPad because it has a solid-state flash disc, so it might well be (does anyone know?) that the 64 GB is really 64x1.024 GB in 'traditional' disc capacity - or something like that....it's too early in the morning and my brain has crashed... :(

    Tim
     
  9. phxflyboy

    phxflyboy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think you are on the right track. I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the "missing" GB's are a combination of the data measurement methods and the iOS. That would probably explain the non-uniform occupied space between the different sized iPads.

    phxflyboy

    Sent from my iPad
     
  10. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    Interesting, Tim. Thanks.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
16g ipad came with 13g
,
capacity available ipad
,
how to check ipad capacity
,
ipad 13g
,

ipad 2 capacity

,
is there an app to measure the ipad capacity?
,
why does my 16 g ipad only hve 13
,
why does my 16gb ipad only have 14 gb
,
why does my 16gb ipad show only 13gb
,
why my apple ipad say i have 16gb but show different capacity