1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Capacity on ipad 2

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by willtrvl, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you have a 16g iPad. What does your capacity say in your settings?
    Just curious cause mine says 14 available.
    If you have a 32 g does it say 30?
  2. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I meant under capacity not available.
    Thanks
  3. The Kleaner
    Offline

    The Kleaner iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've got a 64GB iPad 2 and mines shows 59.1
  4. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh okay, I guess some space was used for other applications.
    Thanks...
  5. phxflyboy
    Offline

    phxflyboy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I, too, have a 16GB iPad and it also shows 14GB. That is normal for devices like this. You never get a full xxGB due to the way memory is calculated, space for iOS, etc. The really dumb part is there was actually a class action lawsuit a few years ago over this very topic and some companies had to pay out, I guess for false advertising of memory capacities. Whatever.

    phxflyboy

    Sent from my iPad
  6. howell
    Offline

    howell iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have a 16 GB White iPad 2. Mine only shows 13.5 GB for Capacity. Where is my other 500 MB? Why am I more angry now? Crap.
  7. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    I wonder: If the missing GBs are for firmware, shouldn't they be consistent across all models? Like if firmware takes up 2GB, shouldn't it be 2GB on a 16GB model, as well as a 64GB model? But that's not the case. So what's locking up the extra GBs on a 64GB model?
  8. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Perhaps different versions of iOS? Also, it's traditional to measure disk capacity in units of 1000 - so a 32 GB disc is 32,000,000,000 bytes. But computer memory (RAM) is measured in units of 1024 (2^10). So a 64 GB disc is often reported by the OS as having 64/1.024 GB. I'm not sure if this applies to the iPad because it has a solid-state flash disc, so it might well be (does anyone know?) that the 64 GB is really 64x1.024 GB in 'traditional' disc capacity - or something like that....it's too early in the morning and my brain has crashed... :(

    Tim
  9. phxflyboy
    Offline

    phxflyboy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think you are on the right track. I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the "missing" GB's are a combination of the data measurement methods and the iOS. That would probably explain the non-uniform occupied space between the different sized iPads.

    phxflyboy

    Sent from my iPad
  10. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    Interesting, Tim. Thanks.
  11. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I have 16gb and it says 14. :(

    Attached Files:

  12. DrHouse
    Offline

    DrHouse iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Mots of the time, capacity is advertised as bytes / 1 000 000 000, meaning that is the device can have 16 000 000 000 bytes, it is advertised as a 16 Gb capacity. But computers will report capacity using the 8 bits rules, meaning bytes / 1024 / 1024 / 1024...

    So for an advertised 16 GB, the device will report 14.90 GB... It's been this way since hard drive capacity were advertised...

    VicoPad addict!
  13. Inception
    Offline

    Inception iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    MOst of the space is taken up by special setting, the multiple-language keyboards, preinstalled apps, iOS, stuff like that.
  14. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Will iOS 5 take up more space? Or about the same?
  15. littlesue73
    Offline

    littlesue73 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Mine says 13.5 gb, so why do some people's say 14?? I am puzzled now
  16. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do you have a 3G iPad?
  17. littlesue73
    Offline

    littlesue73 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yeah I do, could that be why?
  18. willtrvl
    Offline

    willtrvl iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't have the answer but I don't have 3G and mine says 14 capacity. Just a guess..
  19. littlesue73
    Offline

    littlesue73 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yeah I think it might be because it's a 3G, after thinking about it as it will have a few extras on to do with the carrier I suppose....
  20. Rgsp
    Offline

    Rgsp iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have a 32GB with 3G and capacity says 29GB.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
16g ipad came with 13g
,
capacity available ipad
,
capacity on ipad
,
explain capacity and availability on the ipad
,
how much is ipad 2 of 13g
,
how to check ipad capacity
,
ipad 13g
,

ipad 2 capacity

,
ipad only shows 12.8 gb capacity
,
ipad2 shows only 13 gb of space
,
is there an app to measure the ipad capacity?
,
why 16g ipad only have 13g to use
,
why apple says 16g ipad if it has less g
,
why does 16gb ipad only show 4 gb available
,
why does my 16 g ipad only hve 13
,

why does my 16gb ipad only have 14 gb

,
why does my 16gb ipad show only 13gb
,
why does my ipad only have 56 gb capacity
,
why is 16g ipad showing 13g storage
,
why is my 16gb ipad capacity only 13.2