itunes says over capacity ipad?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by iRuthlessPad, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. iRuthlessPad

    iRuthlessPad iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    389
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i have been syncing my ipad for a while now and never had this problem..

    whenever i sync it to itunes it says OVER CAPACITY..although i have more than 150mb in my ipad...but when i sync it to itunes it says over capacity and on ipad it says "RUNNING OUT OF MEMORY"..why does it take that 150 mb left?? is this a bug..because it never happened before! :(
     
  2. Videographer

    Videographer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm not a technical geeg, but the only thing I can think of is that it needs some available on-board memory to properly function. Like your computer, it needs buffer memory to use various programs as well as the Internet. I'm not sure, but that's the only thing I can come up with. I'm sure someone here might have the proper answer for you.
     
  3. iRuthlessPad

    iRuthlessPad iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    389
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    no but it never happened before..i understand what u say but isnt that memory already taken by the ipad when its 14gb in-built instead of 16gb?
     
  4. Videographer

    Videographer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You've got me there. I wish I could help with this one, so I can only say that hopefully someone with some knowledge on this will come aboard.
     
  5. Somerled

    Somerled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    It is entirely possible that there is an app that has files added to it from somewhere other than iTunes that is taking up space even though iTunes is not showing it. You will want some working space, and 150 mb is not a lot. Try getting rid of redundant apps until you get the iPad sync'd up. then, add back the apps until you run out of space.
     
  6. Pocobear

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Have you tried to close all your apps, that are running in the background? Double click the HOME button, then tap and hold any app, on the task bar that pops up, until they all wiggle, and have an X in the top left corner of all the apps on the task bar popup. Tap the X to close each open app. That should free up some memory. Tap and hold the HOME and POWER buttons until the Apple Icon appears, then wait for it to reboot, it may take up to 5 min or so. This is a hard reset. This may help also. Helps with many weird problems on the iDevices. There's also an app called XSysInfo from the Apple App store that will help show what is using up all the memory.
     
  7. iRuthlessPad

    iRuthlessPad iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    389
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    its not that...the memory suddenly disappears when i SYNC the ipad..and then when i eject it..it comes back to normal :confused:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad over capacity

,
ipad over capacity other
,
ipad over capacity what do i do
,
ipad overcapacity
,
ipad says over capacity
,
ipad storage is over capicity
,
ipad sync over capacity
,
itunes says ipad over capacity
,
itunes says over capacity
,
over capacity ipad