Can't recieve FaceTimes but can send OK -Router suggestions?

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by Kentski45, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. Kentski45
    Offline

    Kentski45 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I got an IPAD 3 for Christmas. As of late I can no longer receive FaceTime call but have no problem with out going calls. I took the IPAD into the Apple store an it worked there fine. The suggested it might be my router (d-link 615). Not sure why it worked initially but not now. No changes made to it.

    Any suggestions for a good, easy set up router for around $100 or less. Is dual band the way to go?

    Thanks
  2. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,044
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +937 / 1
    Before buying a new router (and that could be the answer), try a couple of things first. Double click on your Home button and press down on any app in the task bar below until they all wiggle. (or was it jiggle:p) and then delete them all by pressing the minus signs. Then reset your iPad (recommended by Apple to do periodically) Simultaneously hold down the On/Off and Home buttons until the screen blacks out. Wait until the white Apple logo appears then let both go and keep waiting and then restart you iPad. This does no harm to any app or settings. Regards, Andrew
  3. Kentski45
    Offline

    Kentski45 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the suggestion. Still have the problem...so I guess a new router is the next option.
  4. Wokiebear
    Offline

    Wokiebear iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Try seeing if your router needs a firmware update first!
  5. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    If you haven't already done so, try rebooting the router. Even if it appears to work on every other device, this can sometimes help.

    I doubt the router needs replacing, since it has worked in the past. I use a dual band router, and find little difference in performance.
  6. Kentski45
    Offline

    Kentski45 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks all for the recommendations. I have tried them all at some point in time...with the exception of one.

    Imessaging seems to work fine. Someone suggested it may to have something to do with "band width" and to try port forwarding. Since the IPAD requires certain ports be open. I have been researching how to do this, but it may be beyond my expertise! I may give it a try anyway, I can always reset the router to the factory settings if it gets screwed up.

    Thanks again to all...I'll let you know how it turns out!
  7. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,044
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +937 / 1
    Did you try rebooting the router, as Kevin above suggested? Just turn it off for a minute and reconnect it. I would be interested as that has often worked for me.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  8. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Hmm....I think there are a host of other things I'd look for before blaming the router. If you can use the internet to view webpages, get emails, play youtube videos, and even do skype, I would think the router is fine. Which of those things can you do or not do? In fact, can do you skype?
  9. Kentski45
    Offline

    Kentski45 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can do the things you mention...with the possible exception of Skype which I have't tried. I really didn't have a reason to install Skype since FaceTime was one of the reason I got the IPAD.

    What are the other things you would look at if assuming it's not the router?
  10. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Skype is a useful app..because anyone on any platform can run Skype. Facetime only runs on Apple devices.

    But beyond that, I would first check the addresses by which you can be reached by FaceTime, since you haven't mentioned them. I have about 7 plus my phone number on my iPhone. Have you rechecked them? Since you can call out, but can't receive, maybe one has gone missing. What address are the other folks using to contact you? (I don't mean for you to list them here, but to check that your facetime buddies are using the right address to reach you.)
  11. Wokiebear
    Offline

    Wokiebear iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My son had this problem, but he was trying to call back home to family while on TDY. His was caused because they all had the same phone number and email set for FaceTime. Once he changed the iPad to a different email address and NOT the phone number, it worked. But this was inner family communication. FaceTime is based on your iTunes account. Try turning off or deselecting the phone number and use a totally different email in setting under FaceTime, especially if you have an iPhone on that, too!
  12. Kentski45
    Offline

    Kentski45 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, I finally gave up trying to do port forwarding . I purchased an Apple router .. Took about 10 min to install. Everything works fine now.

    Thanks to all for your support and suggestions...don't suppose I'll ever know what the problem was.
  13. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,314
    Thanks Received:
    2,246
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,571 / 1
    If it worked after you changed routers, it was something about your old router that was responsible for the problem. The exact cause may never be known, but it works now and that's The important thing.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

i can receive facetyme but cant call out

,

ipad3 can't face time ipad mini