What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help NOBI with locked up IPAD4 (A1458)

Premium2000

iPF Noob
Reaction score
First let me say that I have no experience with Apple products, nor am I all that technically savvy about computers.

Recently my goddaughter asked me to help her with a problem she was having getting her Ipad 4 to charge. When I first saw it the screen was black and it would not turn on.

I did a little research and tried the Power & Home button 10 second method after leaving on her charger for an hour. This brought the screen back to life showing a red bar and a very low battery level. I double checked the cleanliness of the power port, switched to another cord and made sure that her A/C adapter was at least 100 watt (5 amp).

We let it charge for a couple of hours and before she had to leave it was showing a charge level of 38%. I suggested that she put it back on charge for 24 hours after she got home. The next day she told me that it was back to 100% and everything was working as usual.

Problem solved, I thought. A few days later she called to tell me that after using the pad for a couple of days it would no longer take a charge using the same cable and A/C adapter. She tried a couple of other cord/adapter combinations but no help.

When I got the pad back it was a solid black screen and unresponsive to my various attempts to get it to respond. Again after doing so research I tried using ITunes (on my windows 7 computer) to recover the unit. I first made sure I had all the latest ITunes and Windows updates installed and computer rebooted.