"Cannot RESTORE, ERROR 3200" ....After downloading io5...

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by skimonkey, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,636
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,157 / 1
    I was feeling really good with the update downloading in 15 minutes, extracting and backing up working---until I received this error. I tried to restart the PC and restart the itunes to do the update again-and had the same message. I called Apple support and the kind lady told me that this error has coming up frequently because of the server being bogged down. Her recommendation is to try the update later when it might not be so congested.

    Hope this helps anybody out. I asked if I should do anything else to my router, security updates etc--she told me no. :eek:
  2. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
  3. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,636
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,157 / 1
    Thanks, f4780y-I may consider this if I can gain enough courage to do so as a last resort. I am going to wait and see if I can try later. If I can use your assistance later, I would really appreciate it! I have an ipad 32 wifi. So the firmware would be the ipad wifi-ios5 restore? It says it's for phones.
  4. onarmedia
    Offline

    onarmedia iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried also a few times and was getting the error. Disabled my firewall and it worked.
  5. Martin.D
    Offline

    Martin.D iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Paderborn
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The problem is due to the overloaded Apple servers - I tried 10 times if not more - there is no need to re download the Update once it's completed first time - the error occurs when the iPad tries to verify with Apple - keep trying, I got through after 10 times - up and running now!
  6. bearswatchin
    Offline

    bearswatchin iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Had the same error. Reset both the iPad and the Win computer. Tried again and it worked.
  7. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Berwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just unplug your ipad and then plug it back in and it works
  8. magntpat
    Offline

    magntpat iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is way too long but it might help some people out, sorry I think this is my first post on a forum ever.
    • This is all related to the 3200 error on my iPhone 4 w/AT&T and could possibly work for some of you
    • SO after trying twice to update to iOS5 like I have on any other update, I had to start experimenting - These are all in order
    • I restarted my PC
    • I restarted my iPhone -it did not do anything weird, it started up as normal
    • Put phone in Airplane Mode (no connection at all - no wifi or 3g)
    • I connected my phone in to PC
    • It’s taking around 15 minutes or more on the “Backing up iPhone” dialog box
    • Extracting software takes about 2 mins
    • Verifying iPhone restore with Apple appears
    • Now this is where it gets weird - my iphone booted down and had the little connection thing show on my iPhone screen, like the USB cord connecting to itunes picture/gaphic, this is the furthest I have got and so I start celebrating, but BAM right in the middle of that the 3200 error comes up again and I check my phone to see if it was updated, but no still 4.3.5
    • I would give this a shot because I got damn close, the only other thing I can think of is that once upon a time I jailbroke my phone and didn’t fully uninstall this app called CarbonXD through Cidia. Apparently they put a bookmark webpage in the install process so even though I unjailbroke my phone, this damn app bookmark pops up. Since I am not a tech person I have no idea how to get rid of (no, I tried to simply hold down and delete but everytime I restart my phone that stupid webapp is sitting there. ) I guess it’s my fault for jailbreaking my phone when I really don’t know what I am doing
      • Good luck with the 3200 error and if anybody knows about my issue please let me know!
  9. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,636
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,157 / 1
    As stated before-the Apple Support personnel told me that the server is overloading the system and to try later.
  10. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Berwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Unplug your ipad and plug it back in, it works
  11. Pinkiex
    Offline

    Pinkiex iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I finally succeeded upgrading to iOS 5 after 13 times (lucky number?) of getting error 3200. Just keep on trying hitting restore! All the best!
  12. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    No offence, but none of this has anything to do with the 3200 error or your prior jailbreak status. iTunes download servers are overloaded because the whole world is trying to install IOS5. Plain and simple. Once you get a good download of the IOS5 firmware it will install properly.
  13. 10032050
    Offline

    10032050 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    im having the same error code , so much for the servers been ready for us updating our phones .... very sad ps I also noticed about 80% of my Apps are not ISO5 Ready
    so looks like I may wait , apps like TomTom Satnav , etc.. Regards Matt
  14. dmedlin06
    Offline

    dmedlin06 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    oh wow and i'm restoring my phone now cuz i didn't google fast enough :( thought it was my phone. 30 gigs of xfering coming up
  15. dacooks
    Offline

    dacooks iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    With as many people around the world trying to do this at once, I am amazed the net in general hasn't slowed....

    Any way to check if I have a "good download" of the iOS5 firmware?
  16. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,636
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,157 / 1
    Aldo-
    I have done this-without success. Thanks.
  17. dsuden
    Offline

    dsuden iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Looking forward to all the nice free new features, but I'm less than concerned if I can't get the update installed right this instant. The bandwidth load at Apple has to be colossal right now. I'm happy to just be a little patient under the circumstances.
  18. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    How can we identify which apps won't work?!
  19. davidalan99
    Offline

    davidalan99 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same message, no number. Followed the direction in the more information button, no avail. Must be an overload issue on Apples part. Good news is my iPad (trying that first) seems to still be working.
    OK so Apples a little tied up at the moment. Since I have already downloaded the update does anyone know:
    1) How can you tell if the download was OK?
    2) Will I have to download it again (the update) when I do this for my iPhone?
  20. scotland66
    Offline

    scotland66 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austria
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Just keep trying! Itl work in the end, after umpteen errors, I'm now up and running on 5.0 :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
-1 error
,
apple ipad 16gb can not restore
,
download fails when i restore ipad
,

error 3200 itunes

,
inability to download books on upgraded io7 ipad
,

io5

,
io5 error recovery mode when updating to io7
,

io5 update

,
ipad error 3200
,
ipad restore error 3200
,
iphone restore error 3200
,
ipod 32 4th io5 release date
,
ipod error 3200
,

itunes error 3200

,
itunes restore error 3200
,
restore iphone 4 error 3200
,
trying to restore iphone error 3200