What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Black Boxes around custom icons

LukkyB

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi guys - I'm a designer taking my first step into creating Themes for jailbroken iOS devices. So far the threads in the community have helped me out quite a bit - thanks!

One problem I'm having, however, that I can't find a solution to are these black boxes around custom icons that I'm creating. As you can see the Camera.app worked fine - but Facebook is showing this box around it. Any ideas on how I can get rid of this?

icons_zpsc1b97d47.jpg

Any help would be appreciated.

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Take a look at your icon mask or overlay files. It looks to me as if your new icon is not blocking Apple's standard icon overlay (which is why you can see the black square). You've got to build an image that will mask that black square.

Your camera icon works fine because that IS the image. Stock icons are not affected by theming/masks - which is why you have to theme them individually. The App Store icons, such as Facebook, a the ones that need the masks.

I still don't understand exactly how the white and black work in making masks. I just know that you've got to have two or three masks to get the icons right.

Hopefully, that helps?

Marilyn

Rolleicord

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have a question on icons ... its just a tiny query so I don't want to create a new thread.

I have changed my icons for apps like Al-Jazeera and The Onion. They worked fine. Basically, upgrading to retina resolution on my iPad 3 on Ayecon theme.