AirPrinting

Discussion in 'AirPrint' started by Itwasntme, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. Itwasntme
    Offline

    Itwasntme iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Did it make it into 4.2.1?
  2. nhbeast
    Offline

    nhbeast iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, but it's limited to only about 10 HP printers (you can Google a list of them).
  3. bmlove
    Offline

    bmlove iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What a disappointment to find my 3 month old HP printer was not listed. How do I print now?
  4. trctex
    Offline

    trctex iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a cannon 500 printer that is on a print server in my network and I can print just fine to it.
  5. bogiesmom
    Offline

    bogiesmom iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    trctex - did AirPrint just "find" your printer on the network? I haven't updated yet (a weekend task) but I have three different printers on my network. I was hoping it would be as easy as AirPrint recognizing them. Any input you have is appreciated.
  6. Luke Bizzy
    Offline

    Luke Bizzy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    To heck with Airprint. I just got the $9.95 Printopia app (7 day full app demo available) and it prints to any printer on my network no problem.
  7. trctex
    Offline

    trctex iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There is some windows code you have to start. Here is a link with instructions.

    jaxov.com/2010/11/how-to-enable-airprint-service-on-windows
  8. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Thank you! Amazing that at least 1 person does a simple search before complaining here!
  9. bogiesmom
    Offline

    bogiesmom iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Excellent!! Thanks for the help! I can't wait to try it.
  10. bmlove
    Offline

    bmlove iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've been trying to execute the code found on the Jacob sitento no avail. Keeps giving me access denied each time. Not a computer wiz here. Any thoughts?
  11. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Yeah I'm getting access denied too... Gonna try again in a few I'll let you know if it works... Thing is I didn't want to go through my pc.


    OK easy fix (which I assumed it would be) for the access denied results...

    Instead of typing cmd in the search/run bar go to start/programs/accessories and then right click on the cmd prompt option and choose "Run as Administrator" all the commands are accessible from there and the print install went off without a hitch.. using Canon MP560 on a wireless network.
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  12. bmlove
    Offline

    bmlove iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well I got the command to create the Airprint successful, but now it wont execute when I type in the sc.exe start Airprint. Keep getting a message that it couldn't launch in a timely manner. Guess I'll just wait to see if my print(s) get on the list later.
  13. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Go to the folder in program files and double click on AirPrint.exe then you get the firewall exceptions popup to allow and you should be good to go
  14. Siddys
    Offline

    Siddys iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    mmm.... The install went okay with the CMD commands, but no joy printing? No sign of a printer when I click find on the IPad?

    I didn't get the firewall warning, Windows firewall is turned off an my PC and AVG firewall is on, however no warning from AVG. I have also tried with the firewall turned off.

    I tried clicking AirPrint.exe and got the following message

    'listening for connections ......
    Listening for connections on .......
    Unable to remove ........./cupslite/cupslite. No such file or directory
    Xpdfprint library version = 3.02.33'

    Any ideas would be appreciated

    Thanks
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  15. drpep
    Offline

    drpep iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salmon,Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Try going into user account and turn guest account on,then reboot your computer. This worked for me on a windows xp system.
  16. Siddys
    Offline

    Siddys iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I gave it a go, but no joy.

    Thanks
  17. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Read the comments on the Jaxov site.

    If you're using win 7 make sure you have admin rights, have bonjour installed and check that your firewall isn't blocking the connection. Always a good idea to do a quick reboot when you try things like this.
  18. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Try this
  19. drosenth
    Offline

    drosenth iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cicero Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Worked like a champ!!! Wow! Running on windows XP and able to print to all my shared legacy printers. OMG! Incredible!

    DaveR
  20. Siddys
    Offline

    Siddys iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am getting closer, i have overcome the 'Username and Password request' (I don't have a password set up on my Windows 7 install) by setting Guest Account on,

    All seems to work okay, but when i click print, it appears to print but nothing is sent to the printer??????
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2010

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
aipprint access denied
,
airprint cupslite
,
airprint message unable to remove cupslite/cupslite
,
airprint mx880
,
airprint, unable to remove cupslite
,
airprinting
,
canon mx410 airprint
,

canon mx880 airprint

,
canon mx880 airprint support
,

cupslite

,
cupslite no such file or directory
,
does canon mx880 support airprint
,
enable airprint on mx410
,
is the canon mx880 air print capable
,
mx410 airprint update
,
mx880 airprint
,
unable to remove c:\users\admin2\appdata\local\temp\/cupslite/cupslite - no such file or directory
,
unable to remove cupslite
,
using canon mx880 series with airprinr
,
what is airprinting