4005 on 8.4.1 Update

Discussion in 'iPad Air 2 Forum' started by Dopplerup, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. Dopplerup

    Dopplerup
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I updated iTunes to 12.2.2 and noticed my iPad was due for an update as well. Plugged it in to iTunes and let it do the download and update. However when I checked the iPad a little later it says to plug it into iTunes and iTunes is saying it has an error 4005. I checked that out and followed all the instructions but iTunes is not recognising the iPad even though the iPad is saying plug me into iTunes. I have rebooted the computer, switched cables, tried to reboot the iPad, turn it off/on, all to no avail. Any further suggestions please?
     
  2. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,619
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    When you "followed all the instructions" were you referring to the suggestions in this Apple Support link, which could be useful?
    https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT201444
    Incidentally, you are asked not to duplicate a post as it can cause confusion by such fragmenting of an issue and is against the forum Rules (link to the Rules in my signature below)
    I deleted your subsequent post in the iOS8 sub-forum re the same issue to keep stuff all neat and ship shape:)
    Regards, Andrew
     
  3. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,619
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Another thing you could try, since you have updated to the latest iTunes version on your computer is to, on your iPad, go to settings>iCloud Backup and ensure the Backup switch is set to Off. Then try updating to the latest iOS version as before.
    Andrew
     
  4. Brian 244

    Brian 244
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Thanks Received:
    293
    He mentions that his iPad is in "Connect to Itunes" mode which means that he can't get into settings to backup to iCloud (unfortunately, there is likely nothing left to backup at this point).

    I would recommend checking your dock port for debris or damage and trying a different PC to restore your iPad. If that doesn't work let us know and we will go from there.

    Your iPad is also less than a year old if is an Air 2. So if you have no luck on your own, get it to an apple store if you can or contact apple for support.
     
  5. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,009
    Thanks Received:
    8,645
    You might also try recovery mode, as your iPad is not recognized by iTunes, and showing the "connect" to iTunes" screen.

    Here are the instructions:
    https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT201263

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. Dopplerup

    Dopplerup
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thank you all for the replies.
    Andrew - sorry for the duplicate post, I thought my one in this forum hadn't gone through and on reflection thought it might be more appropriate in the ios8 forum. My apologies. And those were the instructions I followed.
    OB & Brian244 - iPad is locked in the 'Plug me into iTunes mode'. I did see a thread on getting the iPad into the DFU mode and tried that, but while my windows PC recognises the Apple product in the DFU mode, iTunes will not. I have reloaded iTunes twice but still nothing there.
    J.A - I'll give that a try, thank you. At this stage I'm not quite sure when the iPad is actually off because I can only get the apple, a blank screen or the Plug me in icon. I'll be back, as someone once said.
     
  7. Dopplerup

    Dopplerup
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    11
    OK, tried that J.A. but to no avail. As I plug it in the Apple logo appears followed by the Plug me to iTunes icon, but iTunes steadfastly and resolutely maintains its stony silence. Computer recognises an Apple device in the recovery mode so I know the plug/cable is working and iTunes recognises my wife's iPad so I know iTunes is working - sort of. I feel a trip to an Apple service place coming on.
     
  8. Dopplerup

    Dopplerup
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Oh darn it! On re-reading your replies more closely I have just realised I am in the iPad Air 2 forum, not the iPad 2 forum - which is probably why I didn't see my original post come up. My iPad is a 4+ year old iPad 2 64Gb that's been going flat out without a hitch all that time. Sorry about that people.
     
  9. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,009
    Thanks Received:
    8,645
    Did you follow the instructions exactly? You're not meant to plug in the iPad to the computer, but to plug in the cable first, after making sure the device isn't turned on.
    Then hold the Home button while plugging the cable into the iPad.

    Here are some suggestions how to troubleshoot your iPad not appearing in iTunes:
    https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT204095
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Dopplerup

    Dopplerup
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks J.A., did it exactly as per instructions lots of times without success. Spent some time going through that support page (your URL) and did find an interesting anomaly - I don't appear to get the AMDS file when I download iTunes, and I've uninstalled/reinstalled as per the instructions about four times now. Nevertheless, iTunes recognises my old iPod and the missus's iPad no problem so I don't know whether that's an issue or not. Anyway, I think I'll drop the iPad into a support centre tomorrow and get them to do a factory reset as I have a very recent back up.
    Thanks to everyone for the excellent support and suggestions.
     

Share This Page