What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

With or Without +Cellular

Julia M

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to the forum :) I've just bought an iPad Air with WiFi + cellular for my hubby for Christmas. Do you think the + cellular this is necessary? I mean, the data plans are pricey....seems it would be cheaper to just get a phone with a higher data plan and use it as a hotspot for the iPad. I'm new to this hotspot stuff, but it makes sense, especially since we don't use that much data anyway. I'm on a 1G with my iPhone and never go over. I even use it more than I need to sometimes just to use it up. Should I take it back and just get the iPad Air without the +cellular? Are there any major benefits to having it?

Thank you!

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
There is a major benefit to having the cellular version. It has the GPS chip. Wifi versions do not. Even if you never put a SIM into a cellular model, the GPS works, and is well worth the price differential.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi Julia - welcome to the forum! A lot of questions w/ difficult answers since much depends on your preferences & bank book; but to start, do you have a regular computer in your house w/ broadband & a Wi-Fi enabled router? If so, then the Wi-Fi only iPad Air can be used (I have an iPad 2 Wi-Fi only which is fine since my wireless router provides a connection) - now if your mate travels and needs a non-Wi-Fi means to connect to the internet, then another issue to consider? For myself (now retired), wife & I take a lot of short car trips but always stay at places w/ Wi-Fi, now usually free.