What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

safari and high-res images

radiolalo

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi, I'm from Mexico, no ipad yet but a friend of mine is flying back from Canada next weekend and I asked her to bring me one :)
Problem is... I'm a student of classics, and the site "Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romaines" is truly important to me. The question here is: the ipad can handle high res images? or does it downscale like the iphone. I can enter the site from my ipod touch, even can see the image (when you search for a word, the site presents you with an image of the scanned book) the only problem is that the ipod touch presents a downscaled version of that image, in my imac the jpg file is presented at 2024x2906 pixels, so I can read the text without issues, but in the ipod touch the resolution doesnt go beyond 1024x?? (I cant see the other number)

My question is: In the ipad will be the same? or does the safari app in the ipad can handle high-res images without issues? I wont be able to read smoothly the images from that website? does another browser like Atomic would help me with this issue?

Thanks a lot to all of you for your time, I expect your answers could help me with this particular issue, the only one for which I'm doubtful about getting an ipad or not.

Regards

Seadog

iPF Noob
Reaction score
iPad resolution is better than that of the iPod Touch, but not as good as the iPhone 4. The good news is that the resolution of the next generation iPad should be equal to the iPhone 4.

pik0

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
www.TheDailyMapper.com