What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Outlook.com mail: security worries.

AnnEmily

iPF Noob
Reaction score
My husband and I are complete newbies with Apple. On our mini, one of our first steps has been to set up the mail account so that we can fetch our mail from Outlook.com. No problem now accessing our mail on the ipad. BUT... we are now worried: the Microsoft password we've had to provide to set up the mail account on the mini is the one that gives access to our Windows laptop which holds all our data. How secure is our password now? Or should we have done this otherwise?

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
You shouldn't re-use passwords. Change one of them. The laptop password would probably the be easier of the two.

If your Outlook password get compromised, it's probably just darn inconvenient. However, if it's also the password for you laptop, and perhaps other even more sensitive accounts, then you've left yourself wide open.

This isn't so much about how securely the iPad stores the password. It does an excellent job. But email accounts get compromised all the time, usually on the provider's side or by social engineering (you make a mistake).

A good password app can be handy for keeping track of you've various passwords. Some, like 1Password, will sync across several computers and devices, and can even enter your passwords into websites for your. That way you only need to remember one main password, to unlock 1Password, but still have the security of a unique password for all your accounts and computers/devices.

OP
A

AnnEmily

iPF Noob
Reaction score