What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

external hard drive question

shamguess

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Complete ipad newbie here. In fact just looking into buying one. My parents are quite elderly but my mom still does email and basic internet searching. Their PC is near the end of its life span and I am thinking about getting my mom an ipad so she can so basic internet stuff. She no longer needs the power of a PC. Here's the kicker. She has many thousands of photos on the PC (gigabytes of photos from their many years of travels). I would like her to be able to view the images (no editing) on her ipad. I know they can be transfered to itunes or other cloud services but my mom is technically challenged and I know she would struggle with understanding what that meant. I would like to transfer all the images from the PC to and external hard drive that can then be read by and ipad. Can that be done? Will I have a formatting problem with the hard drive since I am copying from a PC and then reading on an ipad? Thanks for your help?

Jupiter7

iPad Fan
Reaction score
It is perfectly feasible to transfer the photos to an external drive and then view them on an iPad from the Files App. You may need to buy an adaptor dependent on the connections of the drive and iPad and possibly use power according to the size of the drive. The USB drive needs to have only a single data partition, and it must be formatted as FAT, FAT32, exFAT (FAT64), or APFS.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score