What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Evernote versus notability

jojoba

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have both apps but I'm new to both and can't really decide which one to go for in terms of daily use. I think notability is great but it puts me off a bit that it only has one platform (the iPad).

Has anyone here tried both? If so, what are your thoughts?

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I only have Evernote, but my recommendation is to use both. The basic Evernote account is free, so the only question is do you like Notability enough to buy it.

If I had a reason to buy Notability (I don't do meetings, classes, events, etc); this is how I envision using it.

Use Evernote for compiling those bits of information you may need later, and want to be able to get to from any computer or device.

Use Notability to take detailed notes for classes, meetings, or other events. If you decide later that the note would live better in Evernote, use the email address you will get with Evernote to email the PDF from notability. Don't know how well that will work with audio notes, you can probably mail the audio file, maybe.

garanth

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I went for Evernote, as I have an Ipad2, Android phone, A PC at home and at work, and a Mac at home. Evernote runs on ALL of my devices, and has decent functionality too.

OP
J

jojoba

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes I'm in the same position as Garanth so I'm finding the sync issues are important to me as well. So far I've found myself using Evernote by default. It's a good app.

Marlow

iPF Noob
Reaction score