What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Concerns buying iPad for paperless office work

SystemsEngineer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to go paperless in my work as a Systems Engineer. My typical working day consists of meetings where I sit and talk to people about their requirements. Based on those requirements I provide a course (I'm a trainer too), consult my colleagues or set up a CRS (Customer Requirement Specification).
During these meetings I use a note pad (pen and paper) to take notes. The notes are entered in chronologic order and if I need to access the notes I need to have my note pad around. I have multiple projects and multiple tasks within those projects so my notes are scattered across the pages and it usually takes some time to find what I'm looking for. Using a laptop to enter notes is not a client-friendly solution, because the client only sees the back of the screen and this prevents an open discussion. Additionally, sometimes I lay my note pad on the table to make a drawing in order to show the client what I mean. Hard to do with a laptop.

So I was thinking maybe an iPad is the solution.

I have the following requirements and concerns:

1. unintentional touch
When sketching (drawing) I will put my hand on the surface I'm drawing on. On paper, nothing unexpected will happen. How about when I lay my hand on the iPad surface while drawing?

2. App for text + draw + picture
I will typically want to add text (handwritten), drawings (hand drawn) and images (taken with the built-in camera) into one single document. It would be nice if the app could convert the hand written text to digital text by using OCR software. Any suggestions for such an app?