What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can I develop an iPad app that connects to a remote mysql database?

Godzuki

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm a windows application developer, I'm recently learning how to develop for iPad and iPod touch/iphone. I've done lots of programs that can read and write data into tables of a MySQL database. However I don't know if that is possible on the iPad. I have seen some mysql clients, so I guess that is actually possible to develop an app that allows me to access data on a mysql database and insert/update/delete records from it, using a personalized front end. I'm making a program to take attendance and homework's from students in a local high school. I'm already finishing development for windows 32 bit and I would like to make an iPad version of it. Is this possible? Can I create forms on iPad and access a remote database (MySQL) and use the stored data there?

Thanks for the help.

MikesTooLz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
Weather.Team
Yes you can.

If this needs to be a secure connection then it will be much more difficult. If its not needed to be secure, you could simply create a PHP script on your web server that accepts variables to be passed to it. Then all you would have to do is grab the webpage for your url with the custom variables to be passed along. Results could be passed back if needed.

Securely connecting to the database would require you to make the app actually make its own connection to the database and would be 10 times more involved.

joeyteel

iPF Noob
Reaction score
MikesTooLz said:
Yes you can.