What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Basic Development Questions

Gerto

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm very new to development for iPad and am a bit stuck here:
For a company event, they want to allow people to fill in a questionnaire on an iPad. There will be 20 iPads and they will not have internet access.

I've done something similar on netbooks a while back and there I just installed a local server and did it with HTML / PHP / MySQL , but seems like such a thing will definitely be not possible for iPad.

Can someone give me some tips on the best way to do this?

From what I've already found it seems like it's best to just develop a new application alltogether:
1)It's not an option to jailbreak all the iPads, so I assume I will need a $99 license and then encode to Xcodes of the 20 iPads so that they can all run the program. is this correct?

2)Can all of this be done using Adobe Flash CS5? The application will obviously need to store the results and it should be relatively easy to get all the results afterwards.

I know questions are very basic, but I'm hoping someone will give me some hints here. Thanks in advance!

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Flash is not an option

I would not bother to create a custom application for this using Xcode.

Look at the existing database applications available and find one with a decent front end that also allows exporting of the resulting data.

You can do this project in a day this way rather than in weeks...

-t

OP
G

Gerto

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply!

Could you please explain why Flash isn't an option? Flash CS5 seems to support developing for iOS.