What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Apple Brings its Two-step Verification Measure for Apple IDs to 59 New Countries


News Team
Jun 22, 2012
Reaction score

A little more than a year ago, Apple enabled the two-step verification measure for its Apple ID account system, and now the company has expanded the feature to nearly 50 additional countries around the world in an updated technical support document.

Initially, the service was offered to users from U.S., Australia, Ireland, New Zealand and the U.K. and the second wave included the following countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Spain.

The two-step verification consists in the iOS push notification system along with SMS to provide an additional layer of security for Apple IDs. After they enroll into the new service, users are asked to provide a single-use, four-digit code alongside their traditional username and password login before being granted access.

Apple has recently tested the feature to iCloud.com so it might roll it out in the future as well. Another recent second security update from Apple consists in the gradual roll-out of in-transit encryption of email messages from iCloud to popular providers including Google's Gmail.

The third roll-out is also the biggest one; here's the entire list with all the supported countries:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Columbia
  • Costa Rica
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Puerto Rico
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
Source: AppleInsider

Latest posts