Will 3g att work around the world.

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by FatalDesain, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. FatalDesain
    Offline

    FatalDesain iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Like is it locked down or can i take it to europe and sign up with a carrier over there. Please let me know for ipad 1 & 2
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Several Forum members have reported being able to use their AT&T handsets outside the US. They have bought pre-paid microSIMs in the country that they've been visiting and used them with no problems at all.

    Tim
    Scotland
  3. Wolfpuppies3
    Offline

    Wolfpuppies3 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +10 / 1
    Yes, you just need a

    new Sim card. Not true of course with the Verizon version which will not work.
  4. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,660
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +530 / 0
    I Australia you buy prepaid cards for Telstra or lotus carriers which work fine. Wifi hot spots like Macdonalds are everywhere as well
  5. Prasius
    Offline

    Prasius iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    The GSM 3G iPad is not locked to a carrier, just pick up a Pay-as-you-go (prepaid) microSIM in the country you're visiting and away you go.. (I'm UK based, normally with Orange in the UK, but currently posting this using an Omani Omantel 3G microsim).

    Buy a CDMA one and you may as well try and use a brick to connect to the internet with via 3G internationally. Actually, the brick might be more successful.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does 3g work all over the world
,
does 3g work in europe?
,

does 3g work internationally

,
does my att service for ipad work in europe
,
does verizon 3g work outside the usa
,
if i buy internet from at&t for my ipad does it work in europe
,
omantel.co.om
,
will at&t 3g work in europe
,
will my at&t ipad work in europe