1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Do iPad 3G work with other carrier than ATT

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by IpadOne, May 3, 2010.

  1. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi all folk’s can one of you told me if the 3G iPad work with Verizon or Spring, or if it’s lock to ATT ….

    during the time i am waiting my (2 days more) i can prepare a micro sim if i can be sure it work

    Thanks in advance
  2. Takenover83
    Offline

    Takenover83 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have heard reports of it working with t-mobile for edge only, as their 3G frequencies are different then ATT.
  3. CPMS
    Offline

    CPMS iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Verizon and Sprint don't use sim cards, different technology so I doubt you'd be able to force it to work without some major surgery. I think its the same reason why you could hack an iPhone to work on T-Mobile but not V or S. If you do get it to work reliably and cheaply you may be able to make a chunk of change though. Good luck...
  4. dmittleman
    Offline

    dmittleman iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What about Europe?

    Yes, T-Mobile but not Verizon or Sprint. You should be able to Google info on how it was done on T-Mobile.

    My question is similar: Can I put a European SIM card in mine to get 3G when I go to Europe in June? Asked another way, will GSM work?
  5. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Europe should do fine, but I have not heard anything about any testing done. That T-Mobile works was indication to the pros about the Euro-usage.
  6. kheldour
    Offline

    kheldour iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Come on folks, we are not talking CDMA any more. It is GPRS, EDGE, UMTS and HSDPA. All international standards working on 900/950/1800/1900/2100 MHz. That's why it's called tri-band.

    The iPad-3G should work with any GSM mobile operator.
  7. rowan
    Offline

    rowan iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Los Angeles (near UCLA)
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Still the question remains (I'm also going to Europe this summer): Do you need a different SIM card or do you somehow just go into settings and subscribe using the Cellular Data tab? (That can't be right.)
  8. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    You would need a sim card for the carrier you want to use. They should be plenty of carriers that will support the iPad.
  9. CPMS
    Offline

    CPMS iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think I've read that you can use the ATT card overseas but you'll be hit with some stiff roaming fees. Overseas sim cards are supposed to work but unless you already have an account in say England, I can't see how it'll be feasible to open a new account while there on vacation (different story if you're fortunate enough to go to Europe regularly for business though).
  10. rowan
    Offline

    rowan iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Los Angeles (near UCLA)
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've been wondering about this question for some time now, so I'll ask it here:

    Is the iPad unlocked? (Obviously, I'm referring specifically to the 3G model only.)
  11. kheldour
    Offline

    kheldour iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    If you travel abroad, then check out, what pre-paid data services are available in that country and get yourself a SIM at the airport, once you land. Or ask a colleague to get one card before you arrive.

    Otherwise roaming fees will kill you. Data roaming is still outrageous.
    It's way cheaper to get two or three SIMs on a months flatrate.....do a little bit of google research.

    Here is some advice:

    UK - TESCO
    Germany - Simyo or Aldi-Talk
    CH - Sunrise or Lebara

    You usually don't pay more than €2,50 per day flatrate, or €9,90/1GB flat or €19,90 flat/month.
  12. george
    Offline

    george iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marbella, Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad 3G works great in Europe - Spain at least

    Hi everyone. I got my wife ;) a new iPad 3G for her birthday. It was pre-ordered in California and it arrived last week. Its her birthday today so we opened it and fell in love all over again - although this time not with each other.

    I had ordered an extra SIM card for MOVISTAR (Spanish Telecom operator) and I cut it down to size and put it in the SIM slot. At first I got only the 3G symbol but no internet but then I went into Settings and Cellular Data and then entered the following:

    APN: movistar.es
    username: movistar
    password: movistar

    It then worked like a dream - super fast internet at home on 5Ghz wifi and outside using 3G.

    Word of warning. I had to go to the local shop again this morning for another card because I was hasty and cut some of the metal part of the SIM card. DO NOT DO THIS! You will regret it. Fortunately a new SIM is only 6 euros.

    Also, I found the APN info by googling. So should work for other countries as well.

    Hope this helps
    /George
  13. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    I got a t-mobile simcard in mine and it's working. Just trim down the plastic on the simcard until it fits.
  14. CaptKirk
    Offline

    CaptKirk iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Tell me,,, why you want to do that??
  15. rowan
    Offline

    rowan iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Los Angeles (near UCLA)
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    To the SIM Card Cutters:
    I'd like to see some before and after pictures of the operation. Sounds scary.
    Now that's a marriage!
  16. mcbrew
    Offline

    mcbrew iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Europe is a little different than the US. Prepaid/reloadable SIM cards are the norm. You can pick them up at airports and at tobacconist shops (at least in the Czech republic). I have only used them with my unlocked Motorola phone... I have yet to travel overseas with my iPad.

    Orange in the UK announced a number of plans... including a 3 gigabyte monthly plan for £15, or about $22US.
  17. george
    Offline

    george iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marbella, Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Quick Update. Everything is still working perfectly. No worries with loose card - fits snugly if cut correctly. Also speed is really great (compared to iPhone 3GS).

    Only thing, because we have the iPad before the official launch in Europe:
    1) No iPad apps are available from Apple! So no iWorks, or iBookshelf etc. Of course, if you have a US account then you can buy Apple iPad apps. Also I'm referring here to Apple iPad apps not other vendors iPad apps.
    2) you can't access the app store from the iPad - you can access and buy apps only from the computer that it syncs with

    This will change when they are officially launched in europe
    Hope this helps

    /George
    Last edited: May 13, 2010
  18. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Multiple iTunes Account


    hola Hombre, you are wrong la

    read my post how to have access to US iTunes account and enjoy all good US app’s
  19. george
    Offline

    george iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marbella, Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok I'll give that a go and report back. Thanks :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3g carriers for ipad 1
,

are ipad 3g good for different carriers

,
are ipads with cellular locked to carriers
,
can at&t ipad 3 uses by other carrier?
,
can i change my ipad 2 carrier from at&t to another?
,
can i use ipad 3g with a different carrier
,
can i use ipad on all crriers
,
can i use other carriers besides at&t on my ipad
,
can ipad 2 be transferred to different carrier
,

can ipad be added to any carrier

,
can ipad model mc496ll work with carrier other than at&t
,
can my ipad be used with another carrier than verizon
,
can you change at & t ipad to another carrier without buying new ipad
,
can you switch carriers on ipad air
,
can you use verizon ipad 3 with other carriers?
,
does my ipad have to be with att
,

ipad purched from att be used with other carriers

,

us cellular/ verizon 3g i pad, can i use another provider ?

,
which carrier can i use with an ipad 1
,
why do some ipad use a carrier