WARNING! - ActionMenu 1.2.4!

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by f4780y, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I installed the ActionMenu update to 1.2.4 which was presented by Cydia this morning on both my iPad2 and iPhone4.

    Both devices now have the spinning wheel of death and are stuck at the Apple logo when you reboot.

    Whilst I will be able to fix them this evening when I get home, ActionMenu users are advised to STAY AWAY from the most recent update until a fix is issued by the developer.

    This is a widespread problem with many users reporting the same behaviour, so I am not alone :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
    • Like Like x 1
  2. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I hate that Spinning Wheel of Death!
     
  3. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,594
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,014 / 0
    Thanks for the heads up, f4780y, but man, they are fast!

    Action Menu has been updated to version 1.2.5, which has fixed the boot problem in version 1.2.4. I've put version 1.2.5 on my iPad1 and, so far, it's working fine (knock on wood).

    And, if you've downloaded the older, buggy version and got stuck on the boot logo, the developer (Ryan Petrich) tweeted this: bootloop fixed in actionmenu 1.2.5. can be remedied by deleting /usr/lib/libactionmenu.dylib and then rebooting

    Hopefully, this thread prevented others from downloading the "bad" version - but at least it can be remedied if you did.

    Sorry you had to "take the hit," Leigh - but I, for one, appreciated the warning. Saved me a headache!

    Marilyn
     
  4. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Yes, finally got both iPad and iPhone back up and working again, and 1.2.5 installed which I too can confirm works fine and dandy. Trauma Over :)

    I've updated the post title so others are aware it was specific to 1.2.4.
     
  5. penanot
    Offline

    penanot iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alor Setar
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So, that is why my ipad1 gone kapishhh... I'me stuck at 4.3.5 now... unable to downgrade my firmware although i have all the blops from 4.3.3 i always get the message firmware error in itunes...
     
  6. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    If you have blobs and follow this tutorial you should be good - http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...-your-ipad-using-tinyumbrella-shsh-blobs.html

    Make sure you follow all the steps exactly as written.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Andy Loba
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    14,425
  2. r3g3x
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    4,417
  3. Mickey330
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    7,496
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

action menu 1.2.4

,
action menu error
,
action menu error cydia
,

ipad 2 action menu