WARNING! - ActionMenu 1.2.4!

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by f4780y, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,115
    Thanks Received:
    651
    I installed the ActionMenu update to 1.2.4 which was presented by Cydia this morning on both my iPad2 and iPhone4.

    Both devices now have the spinning wheel of death and are stuck at the Apple logo when you reboot.

    Whilst I will be able to fix them this evening when I get home, ActionMenu users are advised to STAY AWAY from the most recent update until a fix is issued by the developer.

    This is a widespread problem with many users reporting the same behaviour, so I am not alone :(
     
    #1 f4780y, Oct 10, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  2. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    I hate that Spinning Wheel of Death!
     
  3. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,883
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Thanks for the heads up, f4780y, but man, they are fast!

    Action Menu has been updated to version 1.2.5, which has fixed the boot problem in version 1.2.4. I've put version 1.2.5 on my iPad1 and, so far, it's working fine (knock on wood).

    And, if you've downloaded the older, buggy version and got stuck on the boot logo, the developer (Ryan Petrich) tweeted this: bootloop fixed in actionmenu 1.2.5. can be remedied by deleting /usr/lib/libactionmenu.dylib and then rebooting

    Hopefully, this thread prevented others from downloading the "bad" version - but at least it can be remedied if you did.

    Sorry you had to "take the hit," Leigh - but I, for one, appreciated the warning. Saved me a headache!

    Marilyn
     
  4. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,115
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Yes, finally got both iPad and iPhone back up and working again, and 1.2.5 installed which I too can confirm works fine and dandy. Trauma Over :)

    I've updated the post title so others are aware it was specific to 1.2.4.
     
  5. penanot

    penanot
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, that is why my ipad1 gone kapishhh... I'me stuck at 4.3.5 now... unable to downgrade my firmware although i have all the blops from 4.3.3 i always get the message firmware error in itunes...
     
  6. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,115
    Thanks Received:
    651
    If you have blobs and follow this tutorial you should be good - http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...-your-ipad-using-tinyumbrella-shsh-blobs.html

    Make sure you follow all the steps exactly as written.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Andy Loba
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    17,358
  2. r3g3x
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    5,764
  3. Mickey330
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    7,869
Loading...

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

action menu 1.2.4

,
action menu error
,
action menu error cydia
,

ipad 2 action menu