Rock permanently froze my iPad? Help!

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Adrenochrome, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. Adrenochrome
    Offline

    Adrenochrome iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a jailbroken iPad (OS 3.2, broken using Spirit). Been jailbroken since last week. I use both Cydia and Rock. Left the iPad alone all weekend, get home and find out that Rock has to update something (not sure what), which it did automatically, and AppStore had to update Starwalk. I reopened Rock and did a search for "iPad"...

    And it froze solid. Soft reboot (power button) wouldn't turn it off, so I did a hard reboot (home button and power button), and now it just hangs at the Apple logo. How do I fix this? Please help!
  2. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Have you tried connecting it to the computer via USB while it tries to boot up?

    somehow I don't think its from the rock app.
  3. dpizzo
    Offline

    dpizzo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bklyn 2 IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This has happened to me a few times. Every time it eventually went back to normal. Just takes a while. By now I imagine all is well with yours.
  4. Adrenochrome
    Offline

    Adrenochrome iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's still hanging on the loading screen (Apple logo). I'm going to leave it for about half an hour to see if it boots up on its own. But if it doesn't, what are my options? Put it into recovery mode and do a reset / reload from backup?

    Edit: It may not have been the Rock app, but that's the only thing I did (other than updating Starwalk) before it froze. And it froze while running a search in Rock, so...
  5. Adrenochrome
    Offline

    Adrenochrome iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hmm. Came back after a while. Weird. Did I just run out of memory or something?
  6. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    could have been a number of things.
  7. Timmah
    Offline

    Timmah iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Alright let's see. Something tells me that it is not rock. It says that it is ipad compatible so I would trust them to know about these features before they release something like a an app installer to the public.

    By any chance do you have the app called backgrounder?
  8. Adrenochrome
    Offline

    Adrenochrome iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did, as well as Kiriwhatever, but I removed them both the day after jailbreaking through Cydia.
  9. Timmah
    Offline

    Timmah iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Did you remove them though Cydia or Rock?
  10. gouletjo
    Offline

    gouletjo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm sorry to asked guys but what's Rock ?
  11. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Rock is just like Cydia but has a better user interface and is more user friendly.
  12. Greg G
    Offline

    Greg G iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I had this happen right after loading Rock as well. Scared the ?SD!FED out of me... I removed Rock and have not had a problem since.

    -Greg
  13. Timmah
    Offline

    Timmah iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't understand why these problems happening. I have been using rock for some time now and i have nit seen any problems what so ever.
  14. Greg G
    Offline

    Greg G iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I guess it could be a coincidence. It could also only be an issue for new loads and updates from a previous version work fine. Not sure but I am passing on Rock for now even though it did look pretty cool.

    -Greg
  15. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    I dont use cydia, I only use Rock App. No problems as of yet.
  16. Timmah
    Offline

    Timmah iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What type of ipad do you have?
  17. Greg G
    Offline

    Greg G iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    64mb 3G
  18. DawgBone
    Offline

    DawgBone iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same here, and mine locks up when firing up Rock nearly every other time.... I have to hard reboot it every time... But I have never had it hang on me at startup...

    I too have used Rock on my IPhones for a few years with no problem...


    I just wish they would separate the repos for IPad apps from the IPhone/IPod apps...
  19. CaptKirk
    Offline

    CaptKirk iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    i had a lot of these issues jailbreaking my iPad,, always had to do a tethered reboot.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
as i was updating pinterest on my ipad my ipad froze
,
i pad froze jus apple logo showing on screen
,
ipad 3 froze after downloading cydia
,
ipad hang while downloading
,
ipad permantly frozen screen
,
my star walk froze
,
star walk app frozen
,

starwalk frozen