Upgrding

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Mahmud57, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Is there any risk of losing application or data to upgrading my IPad 2 from version 4.3.3 to 4.3.5 ? I did not Jailbreak my system.
     
  2. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    Minimal risk. But a couple of things.......

    1) always back up your device before upgrading incase you need to retrieve your info
    2) why not wait until iOS 5 is released tomorrow?
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  3. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks, I will wait.
     
  4. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Does backup means sync. With laptop ?
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,249
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 1
    Backup and sync are slightly different things, though both require a computer, at least fir now. Both happen automatically when you sync the iPad with iTunes.

    Sync has to do with your media and apps. When your iPad is connected to iTunes and selected there are a series of pages available to set syncing for a large range of content.

    Backups cover most data not covered by syncing. It includes thigs like the contents and settings of apps (not the apps themselves), system settings, contacts, calendars, picture roll, and much more. Unlike syncing there are almost no controls for backing up. If you sync, it does a backup, maintains only the most recent backup, and you can only restore the entire iPad from a backup, not specific apps or content.
     

Share This Page